• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



by Ivy Compton-Burnett
Adapted for radio bv Christopher Sykes
In collaboration with the author
Narration by John Sharp
Production by Christopher Sykes
Christopher Sykes writes: ' This is the sixth of Miss Compton-Burnett's novels to be adapted for broadcasting. There is much to be said against adapting literary works from their original medium into one for which they were not intended, and the critics often say it. but Miss Compion-Bumett's fiction is now decisively proved, I think, to be a certain exception to any rule on that subject. There are various reasons, notably the great preponderance of dialogue in all her fiction and the wonderful opportunities that her style gives for subtle acting. There is also the interesting fact that many people who have found her difficult reading have also found .that listening to the radio versions of her stories has opened a door on to the strange world she describes, and its wonders.'
DURING THE INTERVAL (8.55-9.5 app.):
Concerto in D (L'estro armonico No. 9) played by Montserrat Cervera (violin)
I Musici on a gramophone record


Unknown: Ivy Compton-Burnett
Unknown: Christopher Sykes
Unknown: John Sharp
Production By: Christopher Sykes
Unknown: Christopher Sykes
Played By: Montserrat Cervera
Sir Edwin Challoner: Norman Shelley
Julia Challoner Sir Edwin's sister-in-law: Beatix Lehmann
Julia's sons: Simon Challoner: John Neville
Julia's sons: Walter Challoner: Geoffrey Wincott
Julia's sons: Deakin: Alec Finter
Rhoda Challoner, Sir Edwin's wife: Patience Collier
Fanny Graham, Rhoda's sister: Betty Linton
Hamish Challoner, Rhoda's son: David Spenser
Simon's children: Graham Challoner: Martin Starkie
Simon's children: Ralph Challoner: Jeremy Spenser
Simon's children: Naomi Challoner: Armine Sandford
Marcia Challoner, Hamish's wife: Mary O'Farrell
Miss Dolton: Jane Eccles


Quartet No. 5, Op. 92 played by the London String Quartet:
Erich Gruenberg (violin)
John Tunnell (violin)
Keith Cummings (viola) Douglas Cameron - (cello)
(: second broadcast)


Violin: Erich Gruenberg
Violin: John Tunnell
Viola: Keith Cummings
Cello: Douglas Cameron

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel