• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



A weekly review of the arts
In each edition two or three speakers comment on whatever seems of most immediate interest: new productions in the theatre, art exhibitions, books, films.


Watkins Shaw discusses the music Handel wrote for various performances of ' Messiah,' some of which is not given in standard English editions
But who may abide
Rejoice greatly (twelve-eight) How beautiful are the feet Why do the nations and various recitatives
Elizabeth Simon (soprano)
John Whitworth (alto)
John Carol Case (baritone)
BBC Singers
Charles Spinks
(harpsichord continuo)
Philomusica of London (Leader, Granville Jones)
Conducted by David Willcocks


Unknown: Watkins Shaw
Soprano: Elizabeth Simon
Soprano: John Whitworth
Baritone: John Carol Case
Harpsichord: Charles Spinks
Conducted By: David Willcocks


Written by Bill Naughton
Produced by Douglas Cleverdon with John Sharp , Sian Davies
Frank Partington , Jeremy Bradbury
Lizbeth Stewart , Jack Howarth Fred Fairclough , Kevin White and boys of St. Joseph's School, Salford
It it a warm summer morning in a Lancashire town on the feast of Corpus Christi 1921. The coal strike is on, and six boys set out on a journey to the slag heap to pick coals for the empty grates in their homes and to earn a bit of cash


Written By: Bill Naughton
Produced By: Douglas Cleverdon
Unknown: John Sharp
Unknown: Sian Davies
Unknown: Frank Partington
Unknown: Jeremy Bradbury
Unknown: Lizbeth Stewart
Unknown: Jack Howarth
Unknown: Fred Fairclough
Unknown: Kevin White
Mrs Duckworth: Violet Carson
Herbert Duckworth: Alan Sykes
Mrs Taylor: Joyce Latham
Jimmy Taylor: Norman Hayes
Michael M'Cloud: Raymond Fitzpatrick
Mrs M'Cloud: Mary O'Farrell
Mr M'Cloud: David Lake Kelly
Ben Shilliton: Ian Piper
Mrs Shilliton: Mildred Dyson
Spadger Chadwick: Peter Harvey
Mrs Haddock: Barbara Greenhalgh
Ernie Haddock: Terry Dean
Miss Twining: Vida Paterson


Mouvements (1954) played by Carl Seemann (piano) and the N.D.R. Symphony Orchestra
Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt on a gramophone record


Piano: Carl Seemann
Conductor: Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel