• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



Rene Soames (tenor)
The Harvey Phillips
String Orchestra
(Led by Lorraine du Val )
Conductor, Harvey Phillips


Tenor: Rene Soames
Conductor: Lorraine du Val
Conductor: Harvey Phillips


from Samuel Cooper to Gwen John
Talk by Geoffrey Grigson


Unknown: Samuel Cooper
Unknown: Gwen John
Talk By: Geoffrey Grigson


Wilhelm Kempff (piano)


Piano: Wilhelm Kempff

: Hugh Burden in 'VINCENZO'

A tragi-comedy by Henry Reed
Produced by Douglas Cleverdon
(Continued in next column)
The music arranged by Denis Stevens from Mantuan composers including
Frescobaldi, Gastoldi,
Merulo Monteverdi , Rossi, and de Wert
April Cantelo (soprano)
Desmond DuprS (lute)
Charles Spinks (harpsichord, organ)
The Ambrosian Singers
An Instrumental Ensemble
(led by Neville Marriner )
Directed by Denis Stevens
The time is the late Renaissance in Italy, between the years 1580 and 1612. The scenes are Mantua, Parma, Florence, Venice, and Colorno.


Comedy By: Henry Reed
Produced By: Douglas Cleverdon
Arranged By: Denis Stevens
Unknown: Merulo Monteverdi
Soprano: April Cantelo
Soprano: Desmond Duprs
Harpsichord: Charles Spinks
Unknown: Neville Marriner
Directed By: Denis Stevens
Vincenzo Gonzaga, Prince of Mantua: Hugh Burden
The Duke of Mantua, his father: Newton Blick
The Duchess, Leonora of Austria, his mother: Mary O'Farrell
Barbara Sanseverino, Countess of Sala: Margaretta Scott
Ippolita Torelli: Rachel Gurney
Agnese del Caretto: Barbara Couper
Adriana Basile: Marjorie Westbury
Elena: Molly Lawson
Margherita Farnese, Vincenzo's first wife: Gwen Cherrell
Ranuccio, her brother (as a boy): Glyn Dearman
Ranuccio (as a man): Derek Hart
Carlo Borromeo: Neville Hartley
Eleonora de' Medici, Vincenzo's second wife: Barbara Lott
Francesco de' Medici, Eleonora's father: Norman Shelley
Bianca Cappello, Francesco's second wife: Gladys Young
Silvio Gonzaga: D Bryer
Gianfrancesco Sanvitale: Frank Duncan
Marcello Donati: Robert Marsden
A Florentine Mother: Cecile Chevreau


Quintet in A, Op. 146 played by the Melos Ensemble:
Gervase de Peyer (clarinet)
Eli Goren (violin)
Ivor McMahon (violin) Cecil Aronowitz (viola)
Terence Weil (cello)
Reger's Violin Sonata: May 20


Clarinet: Gervase De Peyer
Violin: Eli Goren
Violin: Ivor McMahon
Viola: Cecil Aronowitz
Cello: Terence Weil

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel