• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



Légende. Op. 59 No. 10
Scherzo capriccioso, Op. 66 played by the Philharmonia Orchestra
Conducted by Rafael Kubelik on gramophone records


Conducted By: Rafael Kubelik


Trio in E flat, Op. 1 No. 1
Allegro: Adagio cantabile;
Scherzo and Trio; Finale played by the Loveridge-Martin-Hooton Trio:
David Martin (violin)
Florence Hooton (cello)
Iris Loveridge (piano)
First of a series of programmes of Beethoven's trios
Trio in G, Op. 1 No. 2: February 15


Violin: David Martin
Cello: Florence Hooton
Piano: Iris Loveridge


A personal statement on racial attitudes among coloured people by Peter Abrahams
On February 13 Davidson Nicol and Nontando Jabavu will discuss this talk with Peter Abrahams.


Unknown: Peter Abrahams
Unknown: Davidson Nicol
Unknown: Nontando Jabavu
Unknown: Peter Abrahams.


Selections from a dramatic verse-fantasy for broadcasting by Hugh Gordon Porteus
Produced by Terence Tiller
Dog River-the Nahr el Kclb of the Arabs -is a Syrian river associated with Tammuz and also with the Egyptian Dog-God, Anubis. It runs for much of its course through underground caverns, in which part of the action of this programme takes place, and which are haunted by the Dog himself.


Broadcasting By: Hugh Gordon Porteus
Produced By: Terence Tiller
Narrator: Derek Hart
Kenneth: John Slater
Sidney: Frank Duncan
The Dog: Norman Shelley

: Julius Harrison MASS IN C

The names of those taking part in this performance are as printed on Wednesday evening in all Home Services


In the first of two illustrated talks Philip Hope-Wallace traces the gradual emergence of opera comique as a special genre
Second talk: February 14


The Basil Lam Sonata Ensemble:
Jorgen Laulund (violin) Patrick Halling (violin)
Terence Weil (cello)
Francis Baines (double-bass)
Basil Lam (harpsichord)
Last of three programmes of chamber music of the 17th and 18th centuries


Violin: Jorgen Laulund
Violin: Patrick Halling
Cello: Terence Weil
Double-Bass: Francis Baines
Harpsichord: Basil Lam


The Underlying Evolution by the Rt. Hon. L. S. Amery , c.H.
Last of a group of five talks


Unknown: Rt. Hon. L. S. Amery


Tatiana Preston (soprano)
Frederick Stone (accompanist)
Lloyd Powell (piano)


Soprano: Tatiana Preston
Accompanist: Frederick Stone
Piano: Lloyd Powell

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel