• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



Edward Walker (flute) Jack Brymer (clarinet) Watson Forbes (viola)
John Moore (ceilo)
Alan Richardson (piano)


Flute: Edward Walker
Clarinet: Jack Brymer
Viola: Watson Forbes
Viola: John Moore
Piano: Alan Richardson


A talk by Osbert Lancaster on ' The Diary of a Nobody'


Talk By: Osbert Lancaster


Elsie Morison (soprano)
Alfred Deller (counter-tenor)
Michael Groser (counter-tenor)
René Soames (tenor)
Gordon Clinton (baritone)
Hervey Alan (bass)
A Choir
Thurston Dart (harpsichord)
Hubert Dawkes (organ)
The Goideibrough Orchestra
(Leader, Emanuel Hurwitz )
Conductor, Arnold Goldsbrough
In guilty night (Saul and the Witch of Endor)
Ode on St. Cecilia's Day. 1692: Hail, bright Cecilia


Soprano: Elsie Morison
Soprano: Alfred Deller
Unknown: Michael Groser
Baritone: Gordon Clinton
Bass: Hervey Alan
Harpsichord: Hubert Dawkes
Leader: Emanuel Hurwitz
Conductor: Arnold Goldsbrough


Six lectures by E. H. Carr-
Some reflections of the social and political changes of the last century and a half
6-The Road to Freedom
In his final lecture E. H. Carr challenges the assumption that the forces moulding the new society are inimical to freedom, and he ends with some general reflections on the conceptions of freedom, revolution, and progress in the historical process.


Unknown: E. H. Carr


Sonata No. 2, in A minor for unaccompaniedviolin
Grave e Fuga;Andante; Allegro played by Bronislav Gimpel
Third of six programmes


Played By: Bronislav Gimpel


An introductory talk by Sir Thomas Beecham , Bt.
. See tomorrow at 8.0


Talk By: Sir Thomas Beecham


by Thomas Hardy
Arranged for broadcasting in six parte by Henry Reed
London, Fox's lodgings; Berlin, Queen
Louisa of Prussia: Tilsit; Madrid and 'the prince of peace'; Napoleon and Josephine at St Cloud; Retreat to Corunna death of Sir John Moore


Unknown: Thomas Hardy
Unknown: Sir John Moore


Piano Quartet in A Op. 26 played by Phitharmonic String Trio:
David Martins (violin)
James Whitehead (cello) Franz Osborn (piano)


Violin: David Martins
Cello: James Whitehead
Piano: Franz Osborn

: Close Down

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel