• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



Darwin and his Universe by the Rev. C. E. Raven , Regius Professor of Divinity In the University of Cambridge
Thirteenth of sixteen talks by various speakers on the Scientific Revolution


Unknown: Rev. C. E. Raven


Sophie Wyss (soprano)
Gareth Morris (flute) Joan Davies (piano)
Iris Loveridge (piano)


Soprano: Sophie Wyss
Flute: Gareth Morris
Piano: Joan Davies
Piano: Iris Loveridge


Second of two talks by Iris Murdoch
The hero of the existentialist novel finds himself in a ' valueless and meaningless world.' The speaker examines the moral and political implications of his predicament.


Unknown: Iris Murdoch

: Michael Redgrave in ' PRINCE GENJI '

A play by William Cooper based on Arthur Waley's translation of ' The Tale of Genji,
Adapted for radio by William Cooper and Mary Hope Allen
Cast in order of speaking:
Production by Mary Hope Allen


Play By: William Cooper
Unknown: William Cooper
Unknown: Mary Hope Allen
Production By: Mary Hope Allen
Storyteller: Lydia Sherwood
The Minister of the Left: Ronald Simpson
Prince Genji, his son-in-law: Michael Redgrave
Shonagon, a nurse: Muriel Aked
Lady Murasaki: Violet Loxley
Soldier: Manning Wilson
Ukon, a watchman: Roger Delgado
Yoshikiyo a young nobleman: Malcolm Hayes
Ki No Kami: Alastair Duncan
Messenger: Bryan Powley
The ex-Governor of Harima: Carleton Hobbs
His wife: Susan Richards
Lady of Akashi their daughter: Peggy Bryan
Nurse: Barbara Trevor
First priest: Martin Lewis
Second priest: Ronald Sidney


Ceinwen Rowlands (soprano)
Nancy Evans (mezzo-soprano)
William Herbert (tenor) Bruce Boyce (baritone)
George Malcolm (harpsichord)
Ambrose Gauntlett
(viola da gamba) John Shinebourne
(cello continuo)
London Chamber Singers
London Chamber Orchestra
(Leader, Andrew Cooper )
Conductor, Anthony Bernard
Cantata No. 50: Nun ist das Heil, for double chorus and orchestra
Harpsichord Concerto No. 5, in F minor
Cantata No. 205: Der zufriedengestellte Aeolus, for soloists and orchestra


Soprano: Ceinwen Rowlands
Mezzo-Soprano: Nancy Evans
Tenor: William Herbert
Baritone: Bruce Boyce
Harpsichord: George Malcolm
Viola: Ambrose Gauntlett
Cello: John Shinebourne
Leader: Andrew Cooper
Conductor: Anthony Bernard


by Lord Lindsay of Birker, Principal of the University College of North Staffordshire, and formerly Master of BalHol College, Oxford
Second of six talks in which speakers present their own view of what the nature and function of a university should be in contemporary society


Unknown: Lord Lindsay


Quartet in E, Op. 125 played by the Martin String Quartet:
David Martin (violin)
Neville Marriner (violin)
Eileen Grainger (viola)
Bernard Richards (cello)
Fourth of a series of recitals of Schubert's string quartets


Violin: David Martin
Violin: Neville Marriner
Viola: Eileen Grainger
Cello: Bernard Richards


' The Lotos-Eaters ' and ' Ulysses '
Read by Sir Ralph Richardson
Production by Frank Hauser


Read By: Sir Ralph Richardson
Production By: Frank Hauser


Aulikki Rautawaara (soprano)
Jussi Jalas (piano)
The Leafless Tree Summer Night
And is there a thought
Swim. wild duck. on blue waves The Mill Wheel Her Message Romeo
The Diamond on the March Snow To the Evening
On the Verandah at the Seaside


Soprano: Aulikki Rautawaara
Piano: Jussi Jalas

: Close Down

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel