• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



Oystein Sinding-Larsen
Frederick Stone
Aeolian String Quartet:
Alfred Cave (violin)
Leonard Dight (violin) Watson Forbes (viola)
John Moore (cello)
Iris Loveridge (piano)
Piano Sonata in E minor
Efteraarsstormen; Det FOrste; Og jeg vil ha meg en Hjertenskjaer ; Til Norge; Der gynger en Baad paa Bolge
String Quartet in G minor (Op. 27)


Accompanist: Frederick Stone
Violin: Leonard Dight
Viola: Watson Forbes
Cello: John Moore
Piano: Iris Loveridge


Frederic Austin pays a tribute to Sir Thomas Beecham , Bt., on the occasion of his seventieth birthday


Unknown: Frederic Austin
Unknown: Sir Thomas Beecham


by William Shakespeare
Arranged for broadcasting by M. R. Ridley
Produced by Howard Rose
Part 1


Unknown: William Shakespeare
Broadcasting By: M. R. Ridley
Produced By: Howard Rose
Earl of Kent: Ralph Truman
Earl of Gloucester: John Ruddock
Edmund, son to Gloucester: Roderick Lovell
Lear, King of Britain: Donald Wolflt
Daughters to Lear: Goneril: Sonia Dresdel
Daughters to Lear: Cordelia: Rosalind Iden
Daughters to Lear: Regan: Barbara Couper
Duke of Burgundy: Philip Morant
King of France: Denis McCarthy
Edgar, son to Gloucester: Harry Andrews
Oswald, steward to Goneril: Arnold Diamond
A messenger: Adrian Thomas
Fool: Robert Eddison
Duke of Albany: Douglas Jefferies
First gentleman: Richard West
Curan: John Boxer
Duke of Cornwall: Andrew Cruickshank
A gentleman: Ian Cooper
An old man: Lance George
Narrator: Duncan Carse

: MUSSORGSKY Pictures at an Exhibition

Promenade; The Gnome; Promenade; The Old Castle; Promenade; The Tuileries, Children quarrelling at play; Bydlo, The Polish ox-wagon; Promenade; Ballet of the chickens emerging from their shells; Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle; Promenade ; The Market at Limoges; The Catacombs; The Hut of Baba-Yaga; The Great Gate of Kiev played by Julius Katchen (piano)


Unknown: Samuel Goldenberg
Piano: Julius Katchen


Symphony in G minor (K.550) played by the Symphony Orchestra of Nordwestdeutscher Rundfunk
Conducted by Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt


Conducted By: Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt


Talk by Claude Bourdet


Talk By: Claude Bourdet

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel