• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



Pierre Fournier (cello)
Ernest Lush (piano)


Cello: Pierre Fournier
Piano: Ernest Lush


Readings from the works of great preachers from 1500 to the present day
3--Jeremy Taylor 's sermon ' Of the Spirit of Grace,' preached at Whitsuntide
Read by Basil Taylcr
Jeremy Taylor. the son of a Cambridge barber, was born in 1613 and took Holy Orders before he was twenty-one. At once he attracted the attention of Archbishop Laud and was made one of his chaplains, and then chaplain-in-ordinary to Charles I. This attachment to Laud and the Royalist cause had serious consequences for him after the King's defeat; and he was forced into temporary retirement as chaplain to Richard Vaughan. Earl of Carbery. It was during this period that Jeremy Taylor wrote his best-known books. ' Holy Living ' and ' Holy Dying': and preached the series of sermons from one of which this reading is taken. It was printed with others In 1651. After the Restoration Jeremy Taylor was consecrated Bishop of Down and Connor, and he died in 1667


Unknown: Jeremy Taylor
Read By: Basil Taylcr
Read By: Jeremy Taylor.
Unknown: Charles I.
Unknown: Richard Vaughan.
Unknown: Jeremy Taylor
Unknown: Jeremy Taylor


Liederkreis, Op. 39
(settings of poems by Eichendorff) In der Fremde; Intermezzo: Waldesgesprach; Die Stille: Mondnacht; Schone Fremde ; Auf einer Burg ; In der Fremde; Wehmut; Zwielicht; Im Walde; Frlihlingsnacht sung by Elisabeth Schumann (soprano) with Gerald Moore (piano)


Unknown: Schone Fremde
Unknown: Auf Einer Burg
Soprano: Elisabeth Schumann
Piano: Gerald Moore


Opera by Wagner
Act 3
Cast, in order o/ singing
(Continued in next column)
Augmented Tonhalle Orchestra
Conductor. Hans Knappertsbusch
(Relayed from ZUrich by courtesy of Societe Suisse de Radiodiffusion)
Scene: In the ruined castle-yard of Kareol. Tristan's property in Brittany (Acts 1 and 2 were broadcast from Zurich on June 5)


Conductor: Hans Knappertsbusch
A shepherd: Rolf Sander
Kurwenal: Andreas Boehm
Tristan: Max Lorenz
Isolde: Kirsten Flagstad
A s eeisman: Wilhelm Felden
Bi angane: Elsa Cavelti
Melot: Alexander Kolazio
Marke: Lubomir Vischegonov

: An Interpretation of GOETHE'S FAUST'

by Roy Pascal
The two-hundredth anniversary of Goethe's birth occurs in 1949. Each succeeding generation has interpreted his major works to suit its own preoccupations and prejudices. Tonight Roy Pascal. Professor of German at Birmingham University, presents his own interpretation


Unknown: Roy Pascal
Unknown: Roy Pascal.


Chamber Concerto, for violin, piano, and thirteen wind instruments played by Frederick Grinke (violin)
Kendall Taylor (piano) Arthur Gleghorn (flute) Arthur Ackroyd (piccolo)
Alec Whittaker (oboe)
Donald Bridger (cor anglais)
Reginald Kell (clarinet)
Frank Hughes (E flat clarinet)
Mendelssohn Draper (bass clarinet) John Alexandra and Vernon Elliott
Roy White and Frank Probyn (horns)
Harold Jackson (trumpet)
Anthony Thorpe (trombone) Conducted by Edward Clark
The limit of musical ingenuity would appear to be reached in this Chamber Concerto, written in 1924 for Schonberg's fiftieth birthday. The work begins with a motto introducing the musical notes in the names of Schonberg on the piano. Webern on the violin. and Berg on the horn. The motto does not appear as a theme in the body of the work. but as the basis of the rhythms. The first movement. Thema scherzoso con variasione, is for piano and wind ensemble, and although it consists of variations it is also in sonata form. The theme serves as a complete sonata exposition and the first variation, allotted to the piano, is similar to a repeat of the exposition, which is usual in classical music. Variations two, three, and four comprise the development section, while the fifth variation takes the place of the recapitulation. (Incidentally, the second variation is the theme played backwards, the third is an inversion of the theme, and in the fourth the theme is both inverted and played backwards.) The second movement. Adagio, is for violin and wind ensemble, and is in two parts, in the second of which much of the opening material is inverted and played backwards. It is. however, in the finale that the most astounding things happen. It is described as a Rondo ritmico con introduzione, and is for piano, violin, and wind ensemble. In it. both the first and second movements are heard again, played simultaneously. The introduction to the movement takes the form of a cadenza, based on material heard earlier in the work.-


Violin: Frederick Grinke
Piano: Kendall Taylor
Flute: Arthur Gleghorn
Flute: Arthur Ackroyd
Oboe: Alec Whittaker
Oboe: Donald Bridger
Clarinet: Reginald Kell
Clarinet: Frank Hughes
Bass: Mendelssohn Draper
Clarinet: John Alexandra
Clarinet: Vernon Elliott
Bassoons: Roy White
Bassoons: Frank Probyn
Horns: Harold Jackson
Unknown: Anthony Thorpe
Conducted By: Edward Clark


A passage from ' Le Morte d'Arthur,' by Sir Thomas Malory
Read by Alvar Lidell


Unknown: Sir Thomas Malory

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel