Programme Index

Discover 10,100,220 listings and 232,565 playable programmes from the BBC

Thea King (clarinet)
London String Quartet: Erich Gruenberg (violin), John Tunnell (violin), Keith Cummings (viola), Douglas Cameron (cello)
The combination of clarinet with a quartet of strings is so attractive that it comes as a surprise to find so few composers since Mozart have written for this ensemble. A fairly recent addition was commissioned from Benjamin Frankel by the BBC and first played at Cheltenham in 1956. It is a delightful work in three movements, dedicated to Thea King as a tribute in memory of Frederick Thurston, who was her husband.


Thea King
Violinist (London String Quartet):
Erich Gruenberg
Violinist (London String Quartet):
John Tunnell
Viola (London String Quartet):
Keith Cummings
Cellist (London String Quartet):
Douglas Cameron

Third Programme

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More