Programme Index

Discover 9,872,155 listings and 220,946 playable programmes from the BBC

BBC Northern Orchestra
(Leader, Reginald Stead )
Conducted by John Pritchard
Symphony No. 78, in C minor... Haydn Concerto for Orchestra
Hilding Rosenberg
(first performance in this country)
Haydn's ' Mass in Time of War ' and Symphony No. 22: May 11
Hilding Rosenberg, one of the leading Swedish composers of today, was born in 1892, and studied in Stockholm, Dresden, and Paris. A number of his works have been broadcast in this country, including The Revelation of St. John, Symphony No. 3, Violin Concerto, Viola Concerto, and a suite from the opera Journey to America. His Concerto for Orchestra, written in 1949, has three movements: Allegro energico, Adagio (in which a Lapp folk tune is introduced), and Andante moderato leading to Allegro assai. H.R.


Reginald Stead
Conducted By:
John Pritchard
Hilding Rosenberg

A selection from his verse made and introduced by Raymond Mortimer
Read in the original by Roger Blin and Jean Yonnel , and in translation by Nicolette Bernard and Dennis Arundell. (Translations by Frances Cornford , R. J. P. Hewison , and L. E. Jones. )


Introduced By:
Raymond Mortimer
Roger Blin
Jean Yonnel
Translation By:
Nicolette Bernard
Translation By:
Dennis Arundell.
Frances Cornford
R. J. P. Hewison
L. E. Jones.

Talk by Renford Bambrough
Fellow of St. John's College, Cambridge
Although Plato himself wrote voluminously on philosophy he uttered severe strictures on writing as a means of philosophical expression. Renford Bambrough comments on this apparent contradiction with particular reference to the Phaedrus. In this dialogue Plato likens books to mere ' gardens of Adonis,' pots in which plants are forced to a specious maturity only to wither and die without bearing fruit: the only proper method of philosophic communication is the converse of true minds.
A new translation of Plato's Phaedrus by Professor R. Hackforth , with introduction and commentary, has recently been published.


Talk By:
Renford Bambrough
Professor R. Hackforth

Quartet No. 1 played by the Hirsch String Quartet:
Leonard Hirsch (violin) Patrick Hailing (violin) Stephen Shingles (viola) Francisco Gabarro (cello)
Fourth of six programmes each including a quartet by Bartok
Quartet No. 4: May 14


Leonard Hirsch
Stephen Shingles
Francisco Gabarro

by Anton Chekhov
Adapted by Cynthia Pughe from the translation by Constance Garnett
During the interval in the performance of ' Ivanov ' (10.0-10.10 approx.) the following will be broadcast:
The Star; Night
(arr. Rimsky-Korsakov) sung by Mascia Predit (soprano) with Gerald Moore (piano) on gramophone records


Anton Chekhov
Adapted By:
Cynthia Pughe
Translation By:
Constance Garnett
Sung By:
Mascia Predit
Gerald Moore

Third Programme

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More