Programme Index

Discover 10,340,045 listings and 247,572 playable programmes from the BBC

MARIE WILSON (1st Violin), GWENDOLEN HIGHAM (2nd Violin), ANNE WOLFE (Viola),
HERE is a work full of tunes and richness, cheerful and simple to grasp. In the Slow Movement we find clean emotion and attractive efflorescence of delicate ornamentation. The Third and final Movement (a Rondo) prances and swings along in great feather. Note the curious glassy sounds produced when (after the music has gone into six-eight time-two beats to the bar, each beat divided into three), the strings play very close to the bridge—' sul ponticallo,' as it is called. The Quartet is dedicated to Elgar.

fTIHE Italian Concerto is an attempt to apply to one instrument the principles of alternation and of contrast that were observed in writing music for an instrument (or group of instruments) used with some form of Orchestra. It is a Concerto, but a one-man Concerto, the only piece so named that Bach ever wrote for one performer
The instrument for which it was intended was the double-keyboard Harpsichord, in which contrasts of tono unavailable in the single- keyboard form could be taken into account by the Composer. Bach's use of the one keyboard or the other is indicated by the words ' forto ' and ' piano,' and sometimes one direction is applied to the righthand part and the other to the left, so presenting an effect which would have been impossible upon a single-keybcard Harpsichord, and the possibility of which upon th9 Harpsichord's successor, the Pianoforte, gives point to the name it has received.
The title refers to the fact that the Italians established the Concerto form as a chain of Movements (usually, as here, three-two quick ones, with a slow one in the middle).

THIS is the first of a series of four talks on -L Art by the Slade Professor of Art at the University of Oxford. In connection with these talks a number of coloured reprints of Old Masters, prepared by the Medici Society. will bo obtainable, as in the ease of the sim'lar series given by the late C. Lewis Hind, when postcards were issued in conjunction with the National Gallery, and several thousand sets were sold. It is expected and hoped that the new series will receive equal proofs of appreciation.

MYRA Hess (Solo Pianoforte)
(Loader, S. KNEALE KELLEY ).
Conducted by EUGENE GOOSSENS 10.25 MYRA HESS Pianoforte Solos

THE ORCHESTRA Overture, ' A Roman Carnival' - Berlioz
9.45 MYRA HESS and Orchestra Symphonic Variations - Franck
10.5 ORCHESTRA Sinfonietta - Goossens
10.37 ORCHESTRA Slow Movement from the String Quartet - Debussy
Ronde de Printemps - Debussy
10.48 ORCHESTRA Overture to ' Ivan the Terrible ' - Rimsky-Korsakov

5XX Daventry

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More