Programme Index

Discover 9,971,451 listings and 226,611 playable programmes from the BBC

In co-operation with the B.B.C.
Fifth Concert of Eighth Series
Relayed from the. Battersea. Town Hall
A Performance of the Opera
HERE is a seventeenth-century Opera by our great British composer, who was Organist of the Chapel Royal to Charles II, James II and William and Mary, as well as Organist of Westminster Abbey for fifteen years.
Ti,e chief characters are :—
Dido, also called ELISSA—Queen of Carthage
BELINDA, her Lady-in-Waiting (Soprano). A SORCERESS (Mezzo-Soprano), and ÆNEAS, a Trojan Prince (Tenor, or High
The plot, very briefly, runs thus :—
ACT I. Æneas, while on a voyage, is driven by a storm on to the coast of Africa. He is welcomed by Dido, who languished for love of him.
ACT II'. A spiteful sorceress, who hates the Queen, plans to send to the Prince a messenger, who shall pretend to come from Jove himself, and shall command Æneas to depart from Carthage at once. The plot is carried put. Æneas is about to set sail.
ACT III. The sorceress sings her triumph.
Dido is broken-hearted at Æneas' desertion, and has caused her funeral pilo to be made. Though he is willing to risk Jove's displeasure by staying, she bitterly rejects his offer, 'declaring that ' No repentance shall reclaim The. injured Dido's slighted flame.'
He goes. and she stabs herself upon the funeral pile, which then consumes her body.

Relayed from the People's Palace, Mile End
MAY HUXLEY (Soprano) ; MAURICE COLE (Pianoforte)
Conducted by Sir LANDON RONALD
A BOUT three weeks sufficed for the writing of Saint-Saens' Second Piano Concerto.
Yet it is one of the most popular of all his five works of this kind.
Saint-Saens was a noted pianist, and. in fact. when his Second Concerto was first played in Paris, nearly sixty years ago. he himself took the solo part, while his friend Rubinstein made his Parisian début as a conductor.
This Concerto is in three Movements.
The First MOVEMENT, beginning with a slowish
Introduction, goes on to the discussion of themes in turn impassioned and calm.
The SECOND MOVEMENT, Quick and playful, is a dainty piece of work. The opening (plucked Strings, to an undercurrent of drum rhythm) is a charming way of launching a Movement. In a moment the Piano sets its capricious dance going, and we know we are in for a jolly time.
The THIRD MOVEMENT (the Finale) is also a very lively piece, in the style of the excitable Tarantella dance.

TF any Symphony has found its way to J- the hearts of all, it is surely this Symphony by Schubert.
Almost all Symphonies consist of four or more Movements, but this is an exception. Only two Movements and a sketch of a third are known to exist. Probably, Schubert. always busy on a great many works, forgot about it or lost interest in it. He lived six years after completing the first two Movements.
In the FIRST MOVEMENT sadness and wistfulness alternate with tender optimism.
The SECOND MOVEMENT is a beautiful out-pouring of serene and comforting music.

5XX Daventry

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More