Programme Index

Discover 10,100,220 listings and 228,845 playable programmes from the BBC

S.B. from Newcastle.

THE plot of the Opera Euryanthe was made out of a thirteenth-century tale of knightly doings, full also of ghosts, fairies and such-like legendary folk. In the overture Weber strikes the notes of chivalry and mystery. According to Weber's characteristic plan, it contains fragments of the Opera's leading airs.


Conducted By:
Edward Clark

GRIEG wrote three Sonatas for Violin and Piano. The Second is Opus 13 (i.e., approximately his thirteenth work). It is in three separate Movements.
The FIRST MOVEMENT has a short Introduction (slow, sorrowful) in which Piano and Violin rhapsodize, partly forecasting what is to follow. The Movement proper (quick, lively) has two Main Tunes. The First is energetic and rhythmical, typically Norwegian and Griegian. The Second is smoother and less emphatic. The SECOKD MOVEMENT (fairly quick, tranquil) opens with the Piano very quietly playing a simple little tune, which the Violin repeats. Presently it is repeated passionately, in a fuller form. Then follows a middle section, sweet and highly contrasted. Finally the first part is repeated.
The THIRD MOVEMENT (quick, animated) is an exultant dance. It is (like most of Grieg's last Movements) fairly complicated in construction, but simple in spirit.

5XX Daventry

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More