Programme Index

Discover 10,325,913 listings and 247,550 playable programmes from the BBC

Relayed from the Knightstone Pavilion, Weston-super-Mare
National Orchestra of Wales
(Cerddorfa Genedlaethol Cymru)
(Leader, Louis Levitus)
Conducted by Warwick Braithwaite

The Symphony begins at once with the famous phrase which is known as 'Fate knocking at the door'; it is commonly supposed that Beethoven himself allowed this to be accepted as an interpretation of the four-note theme which, as a rhythmic figure, pervades most of the great first movement. It reappears, too, in the slow movement, and in the second theme of the Scherzo.
The slow movement opens with a broad singing melody played by violas and 'celli in unison. The rest of the orchestra carry this on, and then the second subject appears, quietly at first, breaking out anon in a joyous C Major.
The third movement is in Beethoven's own Scherzo form, intended, like those of the sixth and Seventh Symphonies, and the great Pianoforte Trio in B Flat, to be repeated, along with the Trio, twice over, and rounded off by a second da capo. It begins with a very soft theme on the basses, continued by upper strings, horns, and woodwinds, and coming to rest on a pause. Then the horns announce the theme which is so vivid a reminder of the opening of the first movement, and on these the Scherzo i built up. The Trio is begun with a running figure on the basses, which Berlioz thought suggestive of elephants dancing. It leads, through a very beautiful transition passage, to the opening of the last movement, a triumphant major, played by the whole strength of the orchestra. It is here that, for the first time in the history of the classical Symphony, trombones make their appearance. The Movement is rounded off by a noble Coda.


National Orchestra of Wales
Orchestra leader:
Louis Levitus
Warwick Braithwaite

5WA Cardiff

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More