Programme Index

Discover 10,100,220 listings and 230,452 playable programmes from the BBC

of the Bristol Territorial Units.
Relayed from the Cathedral, Bristol.
Order of Service:
Opening Hymn, 'Soldiers of Christ, arise' (A. and M., No. 270)
The Lord's Prayer.
Psalm 15
The Lessons
Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis
(Sung by the Choir to a setting in the Key of F by Sir Charles Stanford)
The Creed. Prayers
(Isaiah's Vision of God-Isaiah vi)
Hymn, 'Eternal Father, strong to save' (A. and M., No. 370)
Address by the Chaplain-General, The Rev. A.C.E. Jarvis, C.M.G.
Hymn, 'Abide with me' (No. 27)
The Blessing


The Rev. A.C.E. Jarvis

In connection with The Monmouth Crusade
Relayed from the Pro-Cathedral Church of St. Woolos, Newport, Mon.
Opening Hymn (A. and M., No. 164)
Psalms 93, 99, 115
Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis (Martin in A)
Anthem, 'Sanctus' (Solemn Mass) (Gounod)
Hymn (A., and M., No. 163)
Sermon by the Rt. Rev. W. W. Hough, D.D., Bishop of Woolwich
Hymn (A. and M., No. 160)
Vesper Hymn (A. and M., No. 13)
(to 20.00)


The Rt. Rev. W. W. Hough

Relayed to Daventry and all Scottish Stations
National Orchestra of Wales
(Leader, Albert Voorsanger)
Conducted by Warwick Braithwaite

Berlioz had a white-hot imagination always ready to pour out brilliant ideas in the most grandiloquent way. Add to that the fact that he had at his finger-tips an amazing knowledge of orchestration, and you may well expect that in this picture of A Roman Carnival in the sixteenth century he will make you see the gorgeous affair as vividly as he himself did when he wrote the overture.

In this rather formidable title Vaughan Williams apparently indicates that his Concerto for solo Violin and Strings has much in common with the less elaborate Concertos of Bach's days, in which the Orchestra is contrasted with the soloist rather than used as a mere accompaniment, as in later Concertos.
This Concerto Accademico is written in three separate Movements.
The First Movement begins 'Quickly, heavily' with a vigorous tune in the Orchestra, a tune which contains a good deal of the chief material of the Movement, and to some extent of the whole work.
The Second Movement is slow, and is thought by some people to give us Vaughan Williams at his best.
The Third Movement is a rapid, bustling piece, in which we hear more than one clear-cut, energetic tune.

No one has pictured the calm and tranquil moods of nature more beautifully than
Delius. Here is one of his impressions, fully scored and containing charming variety of mood. The work, which is dedicated to the Composer's wife, is headed by a quotation from D. G. Rossetti that gives us the thought behind the music:
'All are my blooms; and all sweet blooms of love
To thee I gave while Spring and Summer sang'.


National Orchestra of Wales
Orchestra leader:
Albert Voorsanger
Warwick Braithwaite

5WA Cardiff

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More