Programme Index

Discover 9,909,104 listings and 223,036 playable programmes from the BBC

Relayed from the Assembly Room, City Hall.
National Orchestra of Wales, conducted by Warwick Braithwaite

The Pilgrims' Chant, approaching and withdrawing, the wild Dance of the Maidens of the Venus Mount, Knight Tannhauser's Love Invocation to Venus, the Rising of Venus, the Pilgrims' Chant once more-these make up the famous and popular Overture to Tannhauser.
Thus is pictured the eternal strife between the carnal and the spiritual, and it will be noted that the spiritual is in the end triumphant.

Watcyn Watcyns (baritone) and Orchestra

The opera Boabdil, the Last King of the Moors, is founded on an incident in the war of the Spaniards and the Moors, in the fifteenth century. The Ballet Music taken from the work consists of three pieces, a Spanish Malaguena (in three-time, with a characteristic rhythm beginning with whole beat, two halves, whole), a Scherzo-Valse, and a Moorish Fantasia (two-time, commencing with dignified chords and going on to build up the piece over a recurring motif that stumps about in the bass).
Sometimes the Fantasia is played first and the Malaguena last.


National Orchestra of Wales
Orchestra conducted by:
Warwick Braithwaite
Watcyn Watcyns

5WA Cardiff

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More