Programme Index

Discover 10,333,101 listings and 247,514 playable programmes from the BBC

(From Birmingham)
The Birmingham Studio Augmented Orchestra
(Leader, Frank Cantell)
Conducted by Joseph Lewis
L. Shepherd Munn (Pianoforte)

The last of Beethoven's five Concertos for pianoforte and orchestra, this has long been first favourite with concert pianists and audiences alike. It makes a break with the tradition of Beethoven's day in beginning with three brilliant passages for the soloist, instead of with the then almost invariable orchestral passage. The last of these leads straight into the big first subject played vigorously by the whole orchestra. The second chief theme appears soon after, in the minor mode, played in short, crisp detached notes very softly by the strings. The wind instruments follow almost immediately with a smooth version of it and on these two themes the whole of the majestic first movement is concisely built up.
Like many of Beethoven's slow movements, the Adagio here is a theme with free variations, although it is not so entitled. It is a very simple, broad tune, and the variations are not always very closely akin to it, nor clear-cut and separate as variations sometimes are. The last movement is a Rondo, as listeners now know, a movement in which the first chief theme keeps on returning after it has been interrupted by other episodes.


The Birmingham Studio Augmented Orchestra
Frank Cantell
Joseph Lewis
L. Shepherd Munn

5GB Daventry (Experimental)

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More