Programme Index

Discover 10,243,627 listings and 242,546 playable programmes from the BBC

Relayed from the Free Trade Hall
Relayed from Manchester
CÉSAR FRANCK 'S only Symphony bears the date 1889. It is unlike the classical models in this, that the principal theme appears in all the movements, and in this too, that the materials are developed with a freedom such as the classical masters did not anticipate.
The frst Movement begins with a slow section, in which the lower strings foreshadow the principal tune of the main first Movement. There is another theme which the attentive listener will recognize as furnishing the material for the chief tune of the last Movement. After the first section of the chief part of the first Movement, in quick time, the slow tune from the introduction is repeated, and when the quick part has been heard again, it gives way to a now theme. After this we hear the great second tune which has a largo share in the course of the Symphony. The whole orchestra plays it with noble emphasis.
In the slow Movement, the English horn has the first tune, and the second is really a modification of the big second tune of the first Movement. There follows a section which is in form and tunes like a Scherzo with its alternative Trio, and then .the slow Movement returns. Again the attentive listener will hoar two of the earlier themes played together.
The last Movement begins with a new tune, a joyous one in the major mode, but much of the Movement is based on tunes of the earlier part of the work, and again the second tune from the first
Movement is prominent.


Conducted By:
Sir Hamilton Harty
César Franck

5GB Daventry (Experimental)

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More