Programme Index

Discover 10,100,220 listings and 229,033 playable programmes from the BBC

(Leader, S. KNEALE KELLEY ) Conducted by JOHN ANSELL
BEETHOVEN'S First Symphony has four movements - (I) a slow Introduction, leading to a brisk Movement with many abrupt turns of phrase ; (2) a gentle tripping tune, with others like it to follow, all worked up into a smiling orchestral lyric ; (3) an energetic Movement, called a Minuet because it is in Minuet rhythm; (4) a tripping march-like Movement that seems reluctant to start.
(Conducted by THE COMPOSER)
(Carnegie Collection of British Music) fpHE composer tells us that the work (which leceived one of the last of the awards made by the Carnegie United Kingdom Trust) is, in effect a set of Symphonic Variations, of which the last three, owing to their greater length, have been given separate names. The gentle, pastoral theme is worked in varied ways in eight variations, of which the first, second, and fourth keep closely to its shape, whilst the third and fifth treat it more freely. The sixth variation is entitled Intermezzo, the seventh Scherzo, and the last is a fugue. The tailpiece of the work is based on the fifth variation, and serenely the music moves to its end.


S. Kneale Kelley
Conducted By:
John Ansell

5GB Daventry (Experimental)

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More