Programme Index

Discover 10,333,101 listings and 247,341 playable programmes from the BBC

Relayed from the Winter Gardens, Bournemouth
(No. 9 of the Thirty-third Winter Series)
(50 Performers)
Conducted by Sir DAN GODFREY and Mr. LEIGH
BRAHMS'S Fourth Symphony is in the usual
) four Movements.
First Movement. The wide-stepping First Main
Tune, heard at the commencement is a good deal elaborated, and the music soon becomes more animated. '
A subsidiary theme for Woodwind and Horns has that arpeggio progress (the melody leaping from note to note of a chord) that was one of Brahms's distinguishing marks in tune-making.
From this and the First Main Tune a great deal of the Movement is built up. though a group of Second Tunes (instead of one Main Tune only) is also utilized. The opening melody of this group is easily recognizable—a smooth tune on 'Cellos and Horns, starting with an upward leap.
Second Movement. This is a tender, lyrical
Movement in reflective, almost elegiac mood. Four bars bring us to the First Main Tune, very softly played by the Clarinet.
Some episodical matter derived from this brings us to the Second Main Tune, that flows gravely from the 'Cellos. The opening melody reappears on the Strings. Woodwind decorating it. and with well-knit representations of its material the Movement dies away...
Third Movement. Hero is an atmosphere of rather boisterous jollity, which the percussion instruments notably help to create.
The Movement is a Rondo, the Main Theme coming round several times, with other matter between the repetitions.
After the opening, on the Full Orchestral comes a graceful contrasting tune (Strings starting and Wind continuing).
Transformations of these melodies (portions of which appear in different rhythms and in various parts of the Orchestra) keep the' Movement bowling along. A long passage for the. Drums brings in the Coda, in which we hear fragments of the opening melody.
Fourth Movement. This takes a form rare in symphonies—that of tho Passacaglia, which was originally a dance with a fixed, recurring melody. Burlesque for Piano and Orchestra Richard Strauss
Soloist, Miss ETHEL COBBAN
Welsh Elegy, ' The Flamebearer ' .. Leigh Henry
First Performance at these Concerts
Conducted' by the COMPOSER


Conducted By:
Sir Dan Godfrey

5GB Daventry (Experimental)

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More