Programme Index

Discover 10,244,682 listings and 242,796 playable programmes from the BBC

Relayed from the Queen's Hall, London
Sir Henry J. Wood and his Symphony Orchestra
Bella Baillie (Soprano); Dennis Noble (Baritone); Gordon Bryan (Pianoforte)

In 1784 when Haydn was in the service of a nobleman at Esterhazy, in Hungary, he was invited by a concert-giving society at Paris to compose some Symphonies for production there. He wrote six then, and later another set, to which the one we are to hear belongs.
A short, slow Introduction ushers in the First Movement, in that vein of combined delicacy and brilliance in which Haydn was always so happy.
The Second Movement consists largely of the gentle treatment of a melody, first announced by Oboe and 'Cellos. The Orchestral colours here are rich and satisfying.
The Third Movement is, of course, the Minuet, with its contrasting 'Trio' or middle section.
The Last Movement's First Main Theme has that flavour of peasant music that is never long absent from Haydn's work. As the Movement is a Rondo, we hear this Tune several times, with pleasant diversions in between its appearances.


Sir Henry J. Wood and his Symphony Orchestra
Bella Baillie
Dennis Noble
Gordon Bryan

5GB Daventry (Experimental)

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More