Programme Index

Discover 9,910,659 listings and 223,065 playable programmes from the BBC

ERIC FOGG (Pianoforte)
DAISY KENNEDY (Violin) SOON after the War, great interest was aroused in English musical circlos when it was announced that Sir Edward Elgar had turned his attention to chamber music, and that three works in this class would soon appear. Eigar had then turned sixty years of age, yet ho had written no chamber music since the days of his early, scarcely representative works. This Sonata for Violin and Piano was the first of the new group of chamber works to appear. It is in three Movements. The First MOVEMENT is a bold, vigorous pieco, strenuous music for both instruments. The SECOND MOVEMENT is called a ' Romance.'
It is fanciful-a mixture of waywardness and grace. There is a big climax, but when, as it were, the half-way line is passed, the Violin is muted and an air of mystery comes over the music. The FINALE is mostly a lively, energetic Movement, but is much varied in mood and manner, and contains reminiscences of other parts of the Sonata, very eloquently brought in.

2ZY Manchester

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More