Programme Index

Discover 10,100,220 listings and 229,788 playable programmes from the BBC

All-time hits played with a beat by Sid Phillips and his Band
The Leslie Baker Quartet
Introduced by George Melly Produced by John Kingdon
(Leslie Baker is appearing at Quaglino't Restaurant, London)
News Summary at 1.30
Shipping Forecast at 1.40 on 1,500 m.


Sid Phillips
Leslie Baker
Introduced By:
George Melly
Produced By:
John Kingdon

Piano music
In contrasting styles played by Peter Element (concert pianist) Winifred Scott and Robin Wood
(two pianos)
Steve Race
(Latin-American music)
The Dennis Wilson Quartet
(rhythmic piano music)
Introduced by Alan Dell
Produced by Jimmy Grant
News Summary at 2.30


Played By:
Peter Element
Winifred Scott
Robin Wood
Dennis Wilson
Introduced By:
Alan Dell
Produced By:
Jimmy Grant

Repeated on Tuesday at 11.15 a.m.
Productions this week by Betty Davies and Wyn Knowles
At King's Acre, Alec quarrelled with Grandfather Dale about Carlton. Carlton, however, told Alec he had decided to give up farming and return home with him. Alec realised that he was doing this only to please him and that he really longed to stay, so finally left without him. Richard Fulton left for America; Mrs. Maggs could not come to work because Dotty had a road accident. Hortense, the goose, developed pneumonia and nearly died.


Betty Davies
Wyn Knowles
Grandfather Dale
Richard Fulton
Mrs Dale:
Ellis Powell
Dr Dale:
James Dale
Mrs Freeman:
Dorothy Lane
Sally Fulton:
Margaret Ward
Richard Fulton:
Norman Chidgey
Bob Dale:
Leslie Heritage
Mrs Maggs:
Grace Allardyce
Henry Freeman:
Preston Lockwood
Gwen Owen:
Aline Waites
Robert Webber
Mrs Leathers:
Hattie Jacques
Charles Lamb
Dr Fenimore:
Martin Lewis
Dr Claughton:
Molly Rankin
Isabel Fielding:
Thea Wells
Elsie Freeman:
Betty Hardy
Miss Peebles:
May Carey
Dr Renfrew:
Peter Wilde
Myra Kolinsky:
Miriam Karlin
Bus Conductor:
Ronald Baddiley
Hugh Manning
John Bennett

sung by Gwyneth Williams and John Hauxvell with the BBC Welsh Orchestra
Conductor, Rae Jenkins
Sidney Davey and his Players
' Around These Isles '
Eileen Poulter sings folk songs from East Anglia
Introduced by Morfydd Mason Lewis and Roy Williamson
Produced by John Tylee and John Wilson


Sung By:
Gwyneth Williams
John Hauxvell
Rae Jenkins
Sidney Davey
Eileen Poulter
Introduced By:
Morfydd Mason Lewis
Introduced By:
Roy Williamson
Produced By:
John Tylee
Produced By:
John Wilson

A new holiday mystery serial in six parts
Written for radio by Giles Cooper from the novel ' Tour de Force ' by Christianna Brand
4—' Duke's Move '
Characters in order of speaking:
Production by Raymond Raikes


Giles Cooper
Christianna Brand
Production By:
Raymond Raikes
The Storyteller:
Gabriel Woolf
Inspector Cockrill:
Norman Wooland
Helen Rodd:
Marjorie Mars
Fernando Gomez, a courier for Odyssey Tours:
Howard Marion-Crawford
Mr Cecil of Christophe et Cie Couturiers:
Heron Carvic
Leo Rodd, Helen's husband, a former concert pianist:
Noel Johnson
Louvaine Barker (Louli), a novelist:
Denise Bryer
The girl with a ball:
Eva Huszar
Miss Trapp who lives in Park Lane:
Madeleine Christie
Camillo Peraggia, a courier for Odyssey Tours:
Harold Young
A Juanese shopkeeper:
Armand Guinl
El Gerente. Chief of Police in the island of San Juan el Pirata:
Philip Leaver
El Exaltlda, Hereditary Grand Duke of San Juan:
Trader Faulkner

A company of unlimited laughtermakers presided over by Eric Morecambe and Ernie Wise
Musical Directors:
Sheila Buxton ,
Semprini Geraldo and his Orchestra
Other members of the Board:
Peter Goodwright
Judith Chalmers
Balance sheet written by Edward Taylor
Read by Roger Moffat
Audited by Eric Miller


Eric Morecambe
Ernie Wise
Sheila Buxton
Semprini Geraldo
Peter Goodwright
Judith Chalmers
Written By:
Edward Taylor
Read By:
Roger Moffat
Eric Miller

9-' Robbery on the Night Express '
Music composed and conducted by Alan Paul
Script by John P. Wynn
Production by Trafford Whitelock


Conducted By:
Alan Paul
Script By:
John P. Wynn
Production By:
Trafford Whitelock
Inspector Scott:
Deryck Guyler
Brian Hayes
Olga Jamieson:
Annabel Maule
The Hon Wilbert Thomas-Wilkins:
Michael Collins
Mrs Scott:
Charmian Innes
Assistant Commissioner:
Eric Phillips
Railway Policeman:
Geoffrey Frederick

Light Programme

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More