Programme Index

Discover 10,238,917 listings and 242,329 playable programmes from the BBC

Toytown: The Enchanted Ark
Another play by S.G. Hulme Beaman.
Settings by Andrew Brownfoot from illustrations by S. G. Hulme Beaman

5.20 Children's Film Magazine
Showing recent items of interest and news events.

5.40 The Lost Tribe of Motilon
Ross Salmon, after being driven out of the Motilon mountains, makes another attempt to reach the lost tribe. Ross tells you of this adventure and shows film taken by his cameraman, Eric Keen.

(to 18.00)


Writer/illustrations (Toytown):
S.G. Hulme Beaman
Voices (Toytown):
Madi Hedd
Voices (Toytown):
Peter Hawkins
Voices (Toytown):
Noel Coleman
Voices (Toytown):
Roy Skelton
Puppeteers (Toytown):
Audrey Atterbury
Puppeteers (Toytown):
Molly Gibson
Puppeteers (Toytown):
Elizabeth Thorndike
Puppeteers (Toytown):
Bob Bura
Puppeteers (Toytown):
John Hardwick
Puppets/producer (Toytown):
Gordon Murray
Settings (Toytown):
Andrew Brownfoot
Presenter (The Lost Tribe of Motilon):
Ross Salmon
Cameraman (The Lost Tribe of Motilon):
Eric Keen

Wilfred and Mabel Pickles visit the people of Southport and invite them to ask for the things they would like you to see on your television screen.
From the Cambridge Hall, Southport


Wilfred Pickles
Mabel Pickles
Orchestra directed by:
Eric Robinson
Special investigator:
Pauline Forrester
Special investigator:
Larry Forrester
Harry Carlisle

by Charles Dickens
Adapted for television in thirteen weekly instalments by Vincent Tilsley

In which Yarmouth is the scene of a terrible storm, the rending and up-heaving of all nature, which brings about the death of two old friends. And in which Mr. Peggotty's dream comes true.


Charles Dickens
Adapted by:
Vincent Tilsley
Stuart Burge
Stephen Bundy
Douglas Allen
David Copperfield:
Robert Hardy
A fat page:
Glyn Dearman
Daniel Peggotty:
George Woodbridge
Meriel Hunn
Mrs. Steerforth:
Mary Hinton
Rosa Dartle:
Gwendoline Watford
Passenger in coach:
John Dunbar
Ham Peggotty:
Andrew Downie
Mrs. Gummidge:
Mabel Constanduros
Clara Peggotty:
Edna Morris
Laidlaw Dalling
James Steerforth:
Anthony Tancred
John Vere
Little Emily:
Dorothy Gordon

Men and women from Asian countries put questions to A.L. Goodhart, K.B.E., Q.C., Master of University College, Oxford on "Those Foreigners".
In the chair, Anil de Silva

A recording of this meeting of Asian Club will be broadcast in the regular weekly series in the Far Eastern and Eastern Services of the BBC.


Anil de Silva
A.L. Goodhart, K.B.E., Q.C.
Philip Daly
Donald Baverstock

BBC Television

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More