Programme Index

Discover 9,971,135 listings and 226,538 playable programmes from the BBC

Maria Bird brings Andy to play with your small children and invites them to join in the songs and games.
Audrey Atterbury and Molly Gibson pull the strings
Gladys Whitred sings the songs
BBC film
(to 13.45)


Narrator/Script, music, and settings:
Maria Bird
Audrey Atterbury
Molly Gibson
Gladys Whitred

Starring Robin Hall and Jimmie Macgregor
and featuring Moira Anderson, Bobby Watson, The White Heather Dancers, Ian Powrie and his Band, The Scottish Junior Singers (Conductor, Agnes Duncan)
A section of the BBC Scottish Variety Orchestra
Leader, Dennis McConnell
Conducted by Iain Sutherland


Robin Hall
Jimmie Macgregor
Moira Anderson
Dancer/dance director:
Bobby Watson
The White Heather Dancers
Ian Powrie and his Band
The Scottish Junior Singers
[Singers] conductor:
Agnes Duncan
A section of the BBC Scottish Variety Orchestra
[Orchestra] leader:
Dennis McConnell
[Orchestra] conducted by:
Iain Sutherland
Walter Miller
Iain MacFadyen

Introduced by Cliff Michelmore.
with Fyfe Robertson, Trevor Philpott, Kenneth Allsop, Macdonald Hastings, Christopher Brasher, Julian Pettifer, Cathal O'Shannon, Magnus Magnusson.


Cliff Michelmore
Fyfe Robertson
Trevor Philpott
Kenneth Allsop
Macdonald Hastings
Christopher Brasher
Julian Pettifer
Cathal O'Shannon
Magnus Magnusson
Associate Producer:
Kenneth Corden
Associate Producer:
Anthony Smith
Associate Producer:
Frank Dale
Assistant Editor:
John Lloyd
Derrick Amoore

by William Shakespeare
Adapted by John Barton
[Starring] The Royal Shakespeare Company
in Peter Hall's production of The Wars of the Roses
See page 49


William Shakespeare
Adapted by/For the Royal Shakespeare Company - Director:
John Barton
For the Royal Shakespeare Company - Music:
Guy Woolfenden
For the Royal Shakespeare Company - Settings and costumes:
John Bury
For the Royal Shakespeare Company - Costumes in collaboration with:
Ann Curtis
For the Royal Shakespeare Company - Director:
Peter Hall
For BBC Television - Make-up:
Ann Henderson
For BBC Television - Telerecording Editor:
Roy Clarke
For BBC Television - Lighting:
Robert Wright
For BBC Television - Producer:
Michael Barry
For BBC Television - Director:
Robin Midgley
For BBC Television - Director:
Michael Hayes
Gordon Bennett
Gilbert Cobbett
Geoffrey Mason
Derek Oldfield
Robert Pritchard
Gareth Richards
William Salaman
The House of Lancaster - King Henry VI:
David Warner
The House of Lancaster - Margaret:
Peggy Ashcroft
The House of Lancaster - Prince Edward:
Alan Tucker
The House of Lancaster - Exeter:
Donald Burton
The House of Lancaster - Lord Say:
Donald Layne-Smith
The House of Lancaster - Lord Clilford:
John Corvin
The House of Lancaster - Young Clifford:
John Normington
Sir Humphrey Stafford:
Jeffery Dench
The House of Lancaster - Somerset:
Philip Brack
The House of Lancaster - Oxford:
Maurice Jones
The House of Lancaster - A son that has killed his father:
Peter Geddis
The House of Lancaster - Richmond:
Lee Menzies
The House of Lancaster - Messenger to the Council:
Andrew Lodge
The House of Lancaster - First Lancastrian soldier:
Gavin Morrison
The House of Lancaster - Second Lancastrian soldier:
William Dysart
The House of Lancaster - Lancastrian messenger:
Guy Gordon
Brewster Mason
The House of York - York:
Donald Sinden
The House of York - King Edward IV:
Roy Dotrice
The House of York - Clarence:
Charles Kay
The House of York - Gloucester:
Ian Holm
The House of York - Rutland:
Fergus McClelland
The House of York - Duchess of York:
Madollne Thomas
The House of York - Messenger:
Anthony Boden
The House of York - A father that has killed his son:
David Waller
The House of York - Norfolk:
David Hargreaves
The House of York - Lady Elizabeth Grey:
Susan Engel
The House of York - Hastings:
Hugh Sullivan
The House of York - Rivers:
Derek Waring
The House of York - Buckingham:
William Squire
The House of York - First Watch:
Marshall Jones
The House of York - Second Watch:
Roger Jones
The House of York - Third Watch:
David Rowlands
The Commons - Jack Cade:
Roy Dotrice
The Commons - Smith:
Marshall Jones
The Commons - Dick:
Ted Valentine
The Commons - Michael:
Tim Wylton
The Commons - Clerk of Chatham:
Stephen Hancock
The Commons - Alexander Iden:
Malcolm Webster
The Commons - First Keeper:
Tim Wylton
The Commons - Second Keeper:
Jeffery Dench
The Commons - Lieutenant of the Tower:
Ted Valentine
The French - Lewis XI:
John Hussey
The French - The Lady Bona:
Colette O'Neil
The French - Burgundy:
Hugh Sullivan
The French - Alencon:
Peter Geddis

Introduced by Ian Trethowan who reviews and reports on the political scene at Westminster and beyond with Nigel Lawson.

Mr. Wilson's First Six Months
On October 15, 1964, the electorate voted for a new Prime Minister. Gallery surveys the man and his achievements in the first half-year of office.

See page 51


Ian Trethowan
Nigel Lawson
Film editor:
Ken Bilton
Associate producer:
Brian Smale Adams
Anthony Whitby

BBC One London

About BBC One

BBC One is a TV channel that started broadcasting on the 20th April 1964. It replaced BBC Television.

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More