Programme Index

Discover 10,340,045 listings and 247,882 playable programmes from the BBC

Andrew Davies's drama, based on the novel by Sarah Waters and originally shown as a three-part series on BBC2, that charts the lesbian love story between male impersonator Kitty Butler and her dresser Nan Astley. Whitstable, Kent, during the 1890s: on a family outing to the local music hall, naive young oyster maid Nan finds herself mesmerised by performer Kitty. This is only the start of an exotic adventure which transports Nan into a magical and sexually charged world of hedonism and betrayal. Starring Rachael Stirling and Keeley Hawes.
Sarah Waters guests on Readers and Writers Roadshow which follows.


Andrew Davies
Based on the novel by:
Sarah Waters
Nan Astley:
Rachael Stirling
Kitty Butler:
Keeley Hawes

BBC Four

About BBC Four

BBC Four reflects arts, music and culture with an ambitious range of intellectually and culturally enriching programmes, taking an expert and in-depth approach to its subjects.

Appears in

About this data

This data is drawn from the Radio Times magazine between 1923 and 2009. It shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was subject to change and may not be accurate. More