• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation



in Syncopated Harmony


MAURICE COLE (Pianoforte)
WINIFRED SMALL (Violin) FRANCK'S only Violin Sonata .is in four Movements, which have a certain amount of material in common. FIRST MOVEMENT. This' is not a long one.
After a few soft chords on the Piano, the Violin
' enters, and, supported by the' Piano, plays the First Main Tune. The opening bars of this
. constitute a ' Motto ' which, transformed, recurs in, or forms tho basis of various passages throughout the work. A brief climax occurs, then the Violin stops, and Piano alone plays the Second Main Tune, of some length. , The Violin eventually re-enters and the first tune is briefly developed. After the Violin has been silent for a few bars, the Recapitulation begins, both Tunes being repeated, only slightly modified. SECOND MOVEMENT (Quick). This is a turbulent
Movement. At the beginning, the Piano plays a passage' of rapid broken-up chords, with emphasized notes in the middle. This is the first Main Tune, and is repeated, with Violin doubling the notes which form the Tune. It is developed at somo until, after a momentary lull in the excitement, the Violin plays the Second Main Tune, a more lyrical picco of expression. This material is developed and recapitulated' in a rather free treatment of Sonata form. The THIRD MOVEMENT, varying in speed from moderate to very slow, is in very free style,' though by no means formless. It is in the naturo of a Fantasia, containing a good deal of declamation, in which the Violin is very prominent. The LAST MOVEMENT (Fairly swift) opens with a fine, sweeping Tune of great length, the whole of which is given out strictly ' in Canon ' -the Piano starting and the Violin following, copying the theme a bar behind, -right through the Tune. This is really the only Tuno out of which the Movement is made. There arc passages connecting it in thought with the other Movemonts. The Sonata ends with a splendid declamation (again ' in Canon ') of the chief Tune.
Pianoforte Solo :


Pianoforte: Maurice Cole
Violin: Winifred Small

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel