• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation


: A Symphony Concert

Relayed from the National Museum of Wales
National Orchestra of Wales
(Cerddorfa Genedlaethol Cymru)

Tchaikovsky began a sixth Symphony in mid-Atlantic-so his diary tells us-on his
voyage from the States in the early summer of 1891. But the work did not please him, and he destroyed it, beginning immediately afterwards the new sixth Symphony, with such enthusiasm and energy that the whole thing was clearly outlined in his mind in less than four days. He wrote of it as a Symphony with a programme, 'but a programme of a kind which remains an enigma to all-let them guess it who can,' and his intention was to call it 'A Programme Symphony.' The work was completed by August of that year, and Tchaikovsky had no doubt himself that it was the finest music he had ever composed or would compose, a conviction which many of his admirers share.
The name 'Pathetique' was suggested by his brother, and though Tchaikovsky agreed, he changed his mind and wrote afterwards to the publisher asking him simply to call it Symphony No. 6.
The first movement begins with a sombre slow section, the bassoon giving out shadowy hints of the first main tune. The principal part of the movement, in quick time, begins with the chief tune on the violas, the flutes following with a counter-tune. This is elaborated at some length to reach a groat climax and the music dies away solemnly, to introduce a slower second tune. It is repeated and finally fades to silence. The working out, by no means orthodox in pattern, introduces further tunes, and when the first main tune returns, it does so with impressive effect- The very end of the movement, with the splendid tone of the brasses above solemn descending scales on the strings, has always been regarded as one of the finest parts of the work.
The second movement is a very happy, reaction from the tragedy of the first; in purport it is a Scherzo and Trio, although not in the usual form. The tune, flowing along very naturally in 5-4 rhythm, is a really happy one, contrasting with the wistful tune of the Trio with its solemn drum accompaniment.
The third movement begins with a triplet figure which persists throughout the movement until a great March tune sweeps everything else aside.
The last movement is a profoundly solemn slow one, instead of the quick movement with which a Symphony is accustomed to end. There are two main tunes, both of them inspired by a real sense of tragedy.

(to 14.00)


Musicians: National Orchestra of Wales

: Broadcast to Schools: Mr. H.E. Piggott: Instruments, of the Orchestra by their Players - VI, Oboe, Clarinet, and French Horn

These instruments will be played in turn, so that their resemblances and differences may be noted.


Speaker: H.E. Piggott

: The Beethoven Trios

The Station Trio: Frank Thomas (Violin); Ronald Harding (Violoncello); Hubert Pengelly (Pianoforte)
Trio in E Flat Major, Op. 1, No. 1 Scherzo and Finale

In the third movement of this early work of Beethoven's (as was pointed out when the first two movements were played, it is not regarded as actually his first work) he makes one of the advances on the music of his predecessors which was destined to have an important bearing on the course of all future concerted music. The usual movement in this place, in a Trio by Haydn or Mozart, was a Minuet, either dainty or vigorous, but almost invariably in the usual set form. Beethoven gives us, instead, a Scherzo, bigger not only in dimension, but in character, than the old Minuets, although so much of the old form is still retained that there is a contrasted section, still known as a 'Trio,' after which the opening returns.
The fourth movement is in the most joyous good spirits, and hurries along at great speed. It is somewhat more in Mozart's manner than the other movements...

4.5 John Arthur (Tenor)


Violinist: Frank Thomas
Cellist: Ronald Harding
Pianist: Hubert Pengelly
Tenor: John Arthur

: Archie Roberts' Dance Band

Relayed from The 'South Wales Echo' Food and Cookery Exhibition at the Drill Hall, Cardiff


Musicians: Archie Roberts' Dance Band

: Remnants

A Quick-Sale Revue Under the Direction of Dorothy Eaves
Bargain-Hunters include: Blonde and Brunette, Sidney Evans, Ernest G. Thomas,
The Station Orchestra
Departments for Everybody
All Listeners are invited to give their attention to this Startling Attraction. A whole Store of good things, displayed to the best advantage, are set out on approval.


Direction: Dorothy Eaves
Performers: Blonde and Brunette
Performer: Sidney Evans
Performer: Ernest G. Thomas
Musicians: The Station Orchestra
Chorus of Shop Assistants, Shopwalkers, and Shoplifters: [artists uncredited]

: S.B. from London

(9.30 Local Announcements)
(to 23.00)

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel