• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation


: A Symphony Concert

Relayed from the National Museum of Wales
National Orchestra of Wales
(Cerddorfa Genedlaethol Cymru)

Mozart's good friends, the Haffnera, were a well-to-do Salzburg family, one of whom was the Burgomaster in Mozart's time. They are responsible for three of the master's works, this Symphony, the Serenade, and a little March, the two latter having been commissioned and composed in honour of the wedding of one of the daughters in 1776. Five years later, for the wedding of a younger daughter, Mozart's father was asked to compose a Symphony; he passed on the commission to his illustrious son, who, in spite of the almost overwhelming tasks with which he was engrossed at the moment', undertook it, composing tho work at even greater speed than was usual with him. It is on record that when he looked it over again years afterwards he was himself astonished to find it so good.
As befits the happy occasion for which it was composed, the Symphony is throughout in sunny, exultant, vein; she was indeed a fortunate young woman who had such music written by such a master in her honour.
The first movement begins at once, with a robust, joyous theme, easily recognized in its subsequent appearances and development. The movement is of no great length, and has no repetition of its first part, as so often was, and still is, usual.
The slow movement has only oboes, bassoons, and horns, supporting the strings, and the first violin begins at once with the beautiful tune, very characteristic of Mozart, which forms the basis of the whole piece.
The Minuet is vigorous rather than dainty, with the Trio forming an admirable contrast in that respect, and the last movement, a bustling Presto, brings the Symphony to an end in the same happy spirit which has characterized it throughout. It begins at once with the merry principal tune played in unison by the strings.

Saint-Saens' opera on the subject of Henry VIII centres round the King and Anne Boleyn. The Ballet, that inevitable feature of a French opera, is part of the wedding festivities, and in this concert arrangement consists of four movements. The first is called Entry of the Clans, and is intended to have a Scottish character. It begins with a tune with something of a Scots lilt, and there follows a march which oboes and trumpets play first, the whole orchestra taking it up later.
The second movement is also Scottish in character. Strings, with the woodwinds responding, begin it, and then the oboe plays a tune meant to be reminiscent of the bagpipes, with the harp and cellos imitating the drone. There are two other tunes in the movement, one played first by the violins, and the other, bringing the piece to an end, of a gayer, brisker, nature.
The third movement is a vivacious gipsy dance.
The drum here is prominent with a rhythmic figure, and the boisterous dance tune is presented first by the violins and English horn.
Only in the last movement is there the suggestion of England which the name of the opera would lead one to expect. It is a Jig, violina and then woodwinds playing the merry tune. There is a middle section with a new melody for the woodwinds, and another, quieter, for violins, and then the Suite comes to an end with a really exhilarating Finale.

(to 14.00)


Musicians: National Orchestra of Wales

: Broadcast to Schools: Mr. Guy Pocock: Instruments of the Orchestra, by their Players - The Bassoon

Mr. Guy Pocock has given many talks from Cardiff, and was the originator of the first series of Magic Crystal talks. He also gave a series of talks last year on famous anniversaries and the incidents they commemorated, under the general title 'Please to Remember.'
This talk on the Bassoon will be illustrated by the bassoon player in the National Orchestra of Wales, and gramophone records will also be used to show the place of the bassoon in the ensemble.


Speaker: Guy Pocock

: The Beethoven Trios: No. 1

This is the first of a weekly series in which all Beethoven's Pianoforte Trios will be performed.
The Station Trio: Frank Thomas (Violin); Ronald Harding (Violoncello); Hubert Pengelly (Pianoforte)
Trio, No. 1, Op. I, in E Flat (First and Second Movements)


Violinist: Frank Thomas
Cellist: Ronald Harding
Pianist: Hubert Pengelly

: Lily Clatworthy (Soprano)


Soprano: Lily Clatworthy

: S.B. from London

(10.15 Local Announcements)

: A Programme

relayed from Cox's Cafe, Cardiff
by The Cardiff Station Staff

: Dance Music

Max Chappell's Band from Cox's Cafe, Cardiff
(to 23.30)


Musicians: Max Chappell's Band

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel