• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation


: An Orchestral Concert

Relayed from the National Museum of Wales
National Orchestra of Wales
(Cerddorfa Genedlaethol Cymru)

Like more than one of his gifted compatriots, Rimsky-Korsakov began his career as a musician from the amateur's point of view. Born in that class of Russian society whose sons have a choice of only two careers, he was a sailor until his thirtieth year. Even after his fine musicianship had earned him the appointment of Professor of Composition in the St. Petersburg Conservatoire, he carried on its duties for some time without relinquishing his rank on the active list of the Navy. Thnt there is nothing amateurish in his musical equipment is by now very clearly recognized. He is known as one of the most brilliant members of the modern Russian school whose work combines something of Eastern gorgeousness with the sombre traits of the Slav character.
In the Capriccio Espagnol he has given us a brilliant study in the vivacious Spanish manner. Most of the movements are in Spanish dance rhythms, with characteristic names. The first is an Alborada with a boisterous theme which the violins begin in unison. It is followed by a theme, announced by the horns, on which a short series of variations is built, and thereafter the first Alborada reappears in an altered guise, with different orchestration, but with all the strenuous energy which characterized its first appearance.
The fourth movement is called 'Seeno e canto gitano'; it begins with a series of elaborate Cadenzas. Horns and trumpets together play the first one, to be followed in turn by solo violin, flute, clarinet and harp. after which the movement pursues its somewhat wayward and capricious course, the themes being mainly those of which we have heard hints in the Cadenzas.
The fifth and last movement is a Fandango asturiano, of which the sturdily rhythmic tune is first presented by woodwinds and violins in unison; a short Coda, working up to a boisterous, hurrying close, is founded on the tune which we heard first in the opening Alborada.

Professor Granville Bantocks career has taken him all over the world, and many different lands have given him inspiration for his music. This Suite is a set of five light. hearted tunes in the Russian manner, most of them dances.
The first, At the Fair (Nijni Novgorod), begins with a rhythmic figure out of which the principal tune is soon evolved, a merry tune in which the same rhythm is repeated bar by bar. There are other tunes, all in the same energetic strain, but it is the first which has the chief say in the movement.
The second is a Mazurka, and here again the rhythm of the opening is heard almost all the way through. The principal tune appears after four bars, on the first violins. There is another merry running figure combined with the rhythm of the opening, of which a middle section is made.
The third movement is a Polka with a sturdy tune played first by clarinets, bassoons, horns and cornets. There is another melody, a syncopated one, which clarinet and violin have first.
A Waltz comes next, and here again the introduction foreshadows the chief tune. 'Cellos and bassoons play it first. There is a middle section in more vigorous time and then the first tune returns, now played by all the strings.
The last movement is a very lively Cossack Dance. In a quick three in the bar, it is interrupted ever and anon by a bar of two beats, as though the players stamped their feet firmly on the ground. Here again there is a middle section with a more gracious melody, but soon the energetic opening returns.

(to 14.00)


Musicians: National Orchestra of Wales

: Mrs. D. Portway Dobson: City Life in the Middle Ages: I: The City, its Defences and Houses

The city of the Middle Ages was fortified.
It was surrounded by strong walls, and its gateways were well defended and closed bv night. The streets were narrow, the poor lived in hovels, but many of tho houses of the well to do were very fine, with oak-panelled rooms, splendid fireplaces and magnificent furniture. There was little comfort, however, but hospitals were built for the sick.


Speaker: Mrs D. Portway-Dobson

: John Stean's Carlton Celebrity Orchestra

Relayed from the Carlton Restaurant


Musicians: John Stean's Carlton Celebrity Orchestra

: Musical Programme by The Second Cardiff Troop of Boy Scouts


Musicians: The Second Cardiff Troop of Boy Scouts

: The Super Six

in More Music, Mirth and Mummery

[Starring] George Cobner, Frank Evans, Lyn Joshua, David Evans, Herbert Siese, Sidney Evans


Performer: George Cobner
Performer: Frank Evans
Performer: Lyn Joshua
Performer: David Evans
Performer: Herbert Siese
Performer: Sidney Evans

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel