• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation


: A Light Instrumental Concert

The Station Orchestra
conducted by Warwick Braithwaite

There are in this Concerto (it is Beethoven's Op. 58, in the key of G) several points of treatment that were new and striking when, a hundred and nineteen years ago, the work was produced.
It is in three Movements.

First Movement. The first new thing is that instead of beginning with the usual burst of Full Orchestra (a plan he had followed in his three earlier Concertos). Beethoven lets the Soloist announce the First Main Tune. Besides this, there are several other leading tunes, the Second Main one being given to Violins (a minor key melody in 'arpeggio' steps), and two or three others being brought in.

The Second Movement provides another of the work's points of rarity and interest. It is very short and consists of a lovely dialogue between Orchestra and Pianoforte, the former stating an emphatic, almost imperious Tune, and the latter replying in smooth, quiet, thoughtful passages, as if sweetly reasoning with the other's impatience.

Third Movement. This, the Composer directed, was to follow closely on the Slow Movement. It is a sprightly Rondo, clearly and cleanly built.

Ravel, the foremost of living French composers, wrote this little work in 1906. It is in effect a Concerto for the Harp, with sextet accompaniment.
The Woodwind instruments blend extremely well with the Harp, making many beautiful varieties of brightly-coloured tone, which shows up against the rich background of the Strings. In the middle is a long cadenza for the Harp, in which its capacities are fully demonstrated.

4.30 A Reading
Mr. Geoffrey Hodgson

This is a little Suite of pieces for Flute, Violin and Viola, all of them short, transparently clear and melodious.
They are six in number. The first is a tiny March, the second a Minuet, the third a very brisk little Movement, and the fourth an Air with Variations. Then, to wind up, we have two contrasted lively pieces, the final Movement being introduced by a few bars of slow music.


Musicians: The Station Orchestra
Conductor: Warwick Braithwaite
Reader: Geoffrey Hodgson

: S.B. from London

(9.10 Local Announcements)

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel