• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation


: A Symphony Concert

CORA ASTLE (Pianoforte), JOHN ADAMS (Tenor)

Soon after Mendelssohn' came home from his Italian and Swiss tour in 1831, he wrote this concerto. He was then twenty-two.
There are three Movements:
I (Very quick, fiery). Mendelssohn plunges almost at once into his First Main Tune, which the Piano has by itself.
The soloist and orchestra for a while toss a conversational ball to and fro, and then the quiet second main tune creeps in. These tunes are developed in vigorous fashion, and after their recapitulation a Trumpet and Horn passage leads us to a new key for the next movement, which follows without a break.
II (Rather slow). One Main Tune, expressive and restful, suffices here. It is given out by the cello, to which Mendelssohn was fond of giving themes.
The movement consists of delicate varied repetitions of this, by either the soloist or the orchestra
III A short introductory section (Very quick) leads to the brilliant First Main Tune, a galop for the Piano. Here is the essence of youthful vivacity, that in Mendelssohn was never tinged with vulgarity, but always had in it something high-toned and urbane.
After the opening Tune comes a second idea, a coruscation of arpeggios, much used throughout the movement.
A third motive is a phrase for flutes, consisting of a repeated four-note figure, the second note trilled.
Using these materials with brilliant spontaneity and handling his Orchestra (especially the woodwind) with delightful ease and certainty, Mendelssohn works up the movement, rounding it off with a final irresistible outburst.

In 1830, the tercentenary year of the Augsburg Protestant Confession, it was proposed to hold a general celebration throughout the Protestant States of Germany. The scheme was dropped, after Mendelssohn had specially written this Symphony as a contribution to it.
Written for a church celebration, the Symphony makes many a quotation of church music. The very opening notes are a medieval melody which was used by Bach and Mozart. Later in the introductory section occurs another ancient melody, stridently sounded, and this is immediately followed by the 'Dresden Amen' (which Wagner also adopted-as one of the principal themes in his Parsifal). This opening section of the music may be said to stand for the older church.
To this, follows an outburst of quick music that seems to suggest anger. This part is fully worked out as a symphonic 'first movement.'
The next movement is lyrical, with a hint of pastoral delight. It is cast in the common form and three-beat rhythm of 'Scherzo and Trio.'
A pathetic little tune, in a minor key, opens the next movement. Presently the famous Lutheran hymn. Ein feste Burg ('A safe strong-hold'), enters, the herald of the Reformation. At first it is played by a single flute, other instruments join in at the second line and the rest of the orchestra enters during the remaining lines.
The next section is a variation on this hymn tune. Fragments of it are heard against a running figure in the strings.
The last movement is built largely of massive music, into which the Lutheran hymn is woven towards the end, its last lines being given out, at the close, with full power.


Pianoforte: Cora Astle
Pianoforte: John Adams
Conducted By: Joseph Lewis
Unknown: Thu Movement

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel