• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation


: Symphony Concert

Nearly a hundred years ago (ninety-seven, to be exact) Mendelssohn and his friend Klingemann, having finished for the season with London Concerts, balls, and parties, set out to spend the rest of the summer in a holiday fashion in Scotland. Naturally, they visited the Hebrides. When, after his holiday, Mendelssohn returned to his Berlin home, and was asked by his sisters what were his impressions of the Hebrides, he answered: "They are not to be described; only played about"; and he sat down at the piano and played the opening of the Fingal's Cave, or Hebrides, Overture.
What we are now to hear, then, is a visual and poetic impression put into tone.
VIOLET JACKSON (Soprano) and Orchestra
THIS is one of Mozart's lost three great Symphonies, which are generally considered his finest. All three were written within six weeks. The Orchestra is not a large one, employing only one Flute, two Clarinets, two Bassoons, two Horns, two Trumpets, two Kettledrums, and the usual Strings. It consists of four Movements.
I.Slow. The First Movement opens with a moderately long Introduction, mostly made out of the first two bars. It is alternately loud and soft. Soon there is a soft, smooth phrase for Flute, Bassoon, Horns, First Violins, and String Bass , then two quiet detached chords, and the Movement proper (Quick) begins. The First Main Tune, simple, expressive, and melodious, is given mainly to the Strings, first in the treble, then in the bass. This ends in a loud flourish in the full Orchestra. At length there comes a sudden lull, with which starts the Second Main Tune, again quiet and expressive, but in several phrases, Violins and Woodwind answering one another. This in turn ends in a big climax.
The rest of the Movement is very clear, these Tunes being developed and recapitulated in the usual way.
II. Moving at a steady pace. This Movement is similar in form to the First. Trumpets and Drums are silent throughout.
The Two Main Tunes arc given out respectively by Strings alone, and by Bassoon and Clarinet.
III. Moderately Quick. This is one of the best known of all Mozart's tunes. It is written in accordance, with the usual Minuet plan - (a) The Tune repeated; (b) Development and Repetition of the Tune; (c) Repetition of (b).
A Trio follows, exactly the same in form; in it Clarinets have most of the work.
The Minuet is finally repeated without its sectional repetitions.
IV. Quick. This is a very merry Movement - quite skittish, in fact. Almost the whole Movement grows out of the jolly tune which is heard at the beginning, on the First Violins,

Overture, ' Fingal's Cave - Mendelssohn
Aria, Una Voco Poco Fa ' (The Barber of Seville) - Rossini
MAURICE COLE (Solo Pianoforte) Ballade - Brahms
Quand il Pleut - Pouishnoff
Magic Fire Spell (Firo Music from ' The Valkyrie ') - Wagner-Brassin
ORCHESTRA Symphony, No. 39, in E Flat - Mozart
A Christmas Carol - Malcolm Davidson
To One who Passed Whistling - Armstrong Gibbs
Villanelle Dell' - Acqua
ORCHESTRA Suite. Four Fancies The Serenade ; The First Meeting ; The Trysting Place ; The Happy Ending - Somerville
MAURICE COLE Waltz in A, Op. 34 - Chopin
Fantaisie Impromptu in C Sharp Minor - Chopin
Scherzo in B Flat Minor - Chopin
ORCHESTRA Marc ho Hongroise (Faust) - Berlioz


Conductor: Joseph Lewis
Soprano: Violet Jackson
Soprano: Sfring Bass

: Programme

S.B. from London


. S.B. from Edinburgh

: Programme

S.B. from London

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel