• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Day Navigation





Pianoforte: Harriet Cohen
Pianoforte: George Parker
Viola: Eugene Dekerpeley

: A Roman Catholic Service

From the Studio
Conducted by the Rev. Father C.C. Martindale, S.J.
No Catholic preacher is more widely known outside his own Church than Father Martindale, one of the most brilliant of the Jesuit theologians who received an Oxford training at Campion Hall. He had a wide experience as a chaplain during the War; has written many books on religion, both popular and abstruse; his sermons never fail to fill Westminster Cathedral, and he has broadcast before with conspicuous success.


Service conducted by: Rev. Father C.C. Martindale

: Messiah

An Oratorio by Handel
Doris Vane (Soprano)
Elsie Chambers (Contralto)
Parry Jones (Tenor)
Joseph Farrington (Bass)
The Birmingham Studio Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, conducted by Joseph Lewis
Messiah is written for the usual four Soloists, Chorus and Orchestra. The whole work is subdivided into Three Parts. Considerable 'cuts' are usually made in it, but, for the sake of completeness, the opening words of every number are here quoted.
Part I
1. The First Part opens with an Overture, in two distinct sections, the first broad and dignified, the second quicker, strong and spirited. Then follow Isaiah's prophecies of the coming Messiah.
2-3. Tenor Solos. 'Comfort ye My people' and 'Every valley shall be exalted'
4. Chorus. 'And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed'
5-6. Bass Solos. ' Thus saith the Lord ... I will shake the heavens and the earth' and 'But who may abide the day of His coming'
7. Chorus. 'And He shall purify the sons of Levi'
8-9. Contralto Solos. 'Behold! a virgin shall conceive' and ' O Thou that tellest good tidings'. Chorus takes up these last words.
10-11. Bass Solos. 'For behold, darkness shall cover the earth ...' and ' The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light'
12. Chorus. 'For unto us a Child is born'
13. The Orchestra here plays the simple, dream-like Pastoral Symphony.
14-16. Soprano Solos. ' There were shepherds .... And lo! the angel of the Lord came .... And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host'
17. Chorus. 'Glory to God in the highest'
18. Soprano Solo. ' Rejoice greatly!'
19-20. Contralto and Soprano Solos. Contralto, 'Then shall the eyes of the blind' and 'He shall feed His flock'. Soprano, ' Come unto Him, all ye that labour'
21. Chorus. 'His yoke is easy'
Part II
The opening of the Second Part speaks of the Atonement.
22. Chorus. 'Behold the Lamb of God'
23. Contralto Solo. 'He was despised'
24. Chorus. 'Surely, He hath borne our griefs'
25. Chorus. 'And with His stripes we are healed'
26. Chorus. 'All we, like sheep, have gone astray'
27. Tenor Solo (Short Recitative). ' All they that see Him laugh Him to scorn'
28. Chorus. 'He trusted in God'
29-30. Tenor Solos. 'Thy rebuke hath broken His heart ' and 'Behold, and see if there be any sorrow like unto His sorrow'
31-32. Tenor Solos. ' He was cut off' and 'But Thou didst not leave His soul in hell'
33. Chorus. 'Lift up your heads O ye gates ! ... Who is the King of Glory?'
34. Tenor Solo. 'Unto which of the angels said He ...Thou art My son ?'
35. Chorus... 'Let all the angels of God worship Him'
36. Bass Solo. 'Thou art gone up on high'
37. 'The Lord gave the word'
38. Soprano Solo. 'How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace'
39. Chorus. 'Their sound is gone out into all lands'
40. Bass Solo. 'Why do the nations so furiously rage together ?'
41. Chorus. 'Let us break their bonds'
42-43. Tenor Solos. 'He that dwelleth in heaven shall laugh them to scorn ' and 'Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron'
44. The Hallelujah Chorus.
Part III
45. Soprano Solo.'I know that my Redeemer liveth'
46-49. Chorus. 'Since by man came death,' answered by 'By man came also the resurrection of the dead'; 'For as in Adam all die,' answered by ' Even so in Christ shall all be made alive'
50-51. Bass Solos. 'Behold I tell you a mystery : We shall not all sleep'; and 'The trumpet shall sound'
52. Contralto Solo (Recitative). 'Then shall be brought to pass the saying "Death is swallowed up in victory"'
53. Contralto and Tenor Duet. 'O death, where is thy sting?'
54. Chorus. 'But thanks be to God, Who giveth us the victory'
55. Soprano Solo. 'If God be for us, who can be against us?'
56. Chorus. 'Worthy is the Lamb'
57. Chorus. 'Amen'


From Birmingham

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel