• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Third Concert of the Cardiff Musical Society (Season 1927-1928)


We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
Relayed from the Park Hall, Cardiff.
The Augmented Station Symphony Orchestra
(Leader, Leonard Busfield)
Conducted by Warwick Braithwaite

Franck's only Symphony has three Movements.
First Movement. There is a slow Introduction. Note its opening Tune in the Lower Strings; a great deal grows out of this.
Then comes a quick passage in which that opening Tune is extended and stiffened into something very vigorous and forceful-really tho First Main Tune of the Movement.
Then the slow passage returns; the quick First Main Tune is heard again, and is now followed by a Second Main Tune.
This material is developed for a little time, and then there grows up an orchestral climax, and at its height there is a triumphant syncopated tune for Full Orchestra-a Third Main Tune.
From this point on, it is a matter of development, and then of recapitulation of the material heard, and listeners should by now be well acquainted with this.
The Second Movement moves at a gentle, but not slow speed. Plucked Strings and Harps begin with a tender melancholy. In a moment the Cor Anglais (Alto Oboe) creeps in with a graceful tune. A somewhat livelier mood is represented by the middle portion of the Movement, and then the pensive mood returns.
Third Movement. (Not too quick). This is a Movement of imposing strength and vigour. After five or six bars of Introduction, the 'Cellos enter with the joyous First Tune.
The Second Tune, some little time later, cannot be missed; it opens with a dignified phrase for Brass alone.
From these Tunes, and several from the preceding Movements, a magnificent Finale is evolved.


Musicians: The Augmented Station Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra leader: Leonard Busfield
Conductor: Warwick Braithwaite

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Feedback about Third Concert of the Cardiff Musical Society (Season 1927-1928), 5WA Cardiff, 21.05, 4 March 1928
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/ef85400ff8d044b0825e6cfd12fb054a

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel