• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group



We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
Relayed from the Queen's Hall
Sir HENRY J. WOOD and his
NOEL EADIE (Soprano)
(Two Pianofortes)
BRANDEN BURG of Bach's time was an enthusiast for music, and he commissioned Bach to 'Write some works for him. In 1721 Bach had completed his contract and sent the noble Margrave six of his most attractive compositions, now known as the Six Brandenburg Concertos. It is the sixth nf these that we are now to hear.
Bach wrote this Concerto in six parts, two for the Viola da Braecia ('arm Viol '—played as the Violin is played), two for the Viola da Gamba (or ' knee Viol '—a forerunner of the 'Cello), one for the ordinary 'Cello and one for the ' Violone' (Double Bass), with a part for a keyboard instrument, to help fill in the harmonies. Nowadays, the parts are divided into two for Violas, three for 'Cellos and one for Double Bass.
The absence of Violins (a very rare thing in a work for Strings) gives a curious colour to the tone.
BACH sometimes made arrangements of his pieces for various combinations of instruments. This Concerto is one of three for two Pianos, but only one of the works was originally written for keyboards.
We do not know with certainty what the original form of this was; it seems likely, however, that it is an arrangement of a Concerto for Violin and Oboe, which, in that form, has disappeared.
There are three Movements. the first and last lively, and the middle one a dialogue between the two instruments, upon a beautiful calm melody.
THIS Suite, a lovely example of Bach's instrumental style, consists of (1) an Overture,
(2) a Rondo (a short tune constantly recurring, alternated with other passages), (3) a stately dance, a Sarabande, (4) a lively dance, a Bourree (or rather two Bourrées alternated), (5) a Polonaise, with a Variation upon it, (6) a Minuet, and (7) a jolly little piece called Badinerie, i.e., ' Playfulness.'
THIS Concerto comes nearer than the one already played tonight to the modern form in which a Soloist (two in this case) ' plavs a conspicuous part on an orchestral background.
It consists of three Movements.
First Movement. A Quick Movement in which the two Pianos are played mostly in a kind of dialogue.
Second Movement. A Slow Movement for the Pianos only.
Third Movement. A Fugue written on a bright tune. In this vigorous Movement the instruments enter in turn, first one Piano, then the second Piano, then the stringed instruments working downwards.
THIS is a collection of six Bach pieces, nearly all taken from his music for keyboard instruments. Sir Henry Wood has scored these pieces for modem orchestra, but in doing so ho has tried to adhere faithfully throughout to the spirit of the original.

ORCHESTRA Sixth Brandenburg Concerto - Bach
NOEL EADIE, with Orchestra Sighing, weeping (Cantata No. 21) - Bach
Patron ! Patron ! (' Phoebus and Pan ') - BachBach
JAMES CHINO and VICTOR HELY-HUTCHINSON, with Orchestra First Concerto for Two Pianos and Strings, in C Minor - Bach
ROBERT MURCHIE, with Orchestra Second Suite for Flute and Strings - Bach
GREGORY STROUD, with Orchestra To dancing and frolic ('PhÅ?bus and Pan ') - Bach
JAMES CHING and VICTOR HELY-HUTCHINSON with Orchestra Second Concerto for Two Pianos and Strings, in C - Bach
ORCHESTRA Sixth Suite for Orchestra - Bach, arr. Wood


About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Feedback about B.B.C. PROMENADE CONCERT, 5XX Daventry, 20.00, 14 September 1927
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/ea0ec50c5af44aea964a62276f7a0437

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel