• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group



We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
(Section D)
The opera, or rather music drama, Bronwen, is the third of the trilogy composed by Josef Holbrooke on the text of T. E. Ellis (the pen name of Lord Howard de Walden). The three dramas (the first two are The Children of Don and Dylan) together form an epic of Wagnerian dimensions entitled The Cauldron of Amvyn, founded on Welsh mythology. The first of the trilogy was produced in London in 1912 and performed later in Vienna and Salzburg (1923) ; Dylan was produced in London two years later at Drury Lane Theatre ; and Bronwen was given its first performance by the Carl Rosa Opera Company in 1929. The story of the trilogy is tragic, and passionate, and the music is in keeping with the strong, darkly painted moods of the text. The overture to Bronwen is often separately played in the concert room.
Serenade............. Karol Rathaus i. Allegretto. 2. Moderate. 3.
Allegro con brio
(First performance in England)
Karol Rathaus , who was bom in 1895 and studied under Franz Schreker , is one of the more prominent of the younger Austrian modernist composers. He has composed two operas, Fremde Erde and Der letzte Pierrot, both of which were produced at the Berlin State Opera. He has also composed two symphonies, a Suite for violin and chamber orchestra, Tanzstücke, an overture, and this Serenade. Among Rathaus's chamber music there are three piano sonatas, a ballad, two string quartets, and a violin sonata.
The Serenade was composed in 1932 and first performed in Berlin in 1933. A Revel................ Felix White
(First performance)
Felix White 's ' A Revel ' is the seventh of nine orchestral works and was composed some years ago. According to the composer, it depicts a scene of indoor festivity, one in which we have
' heard words that have been
So nimble, and so full of subtle flame,
As if that every one from whence they came
Had meant to put his whole wit in a jest.'
Symphony in C minor ...... Rootham
(First broadcast performance) (Conducted by the Composer)
I. Adagio non troppo : Allegro ritmico. 2. Adagio molto; alia marcia. 3. Allegro molto. 4. Allegro con spirito


Unknown: Laurance Turner
Conducted By: Clarence Raybould
Conducted By: Cyril B. Rootham
Composed By: Josef Holbrooke
Unknown: T. E. Ellis
Unknown: Karol Rathaus
Unknown: Karol Rathaus
Unknown: Franz Schreker
Unknown: Fremde Erde
Unknown: Felix White
Unknown: Felix White
Unknown: I. Adagio

Tell us more or contact us

Do you know something about this programme that we have not included above?
Or would you like to ask the Genome team a question?

Tell us more or contact us

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Feedback about THE BBC ORCHESTRA, National Programme Daventry, 22.00, 30 October 1936
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/e51fd40bfb424ae4bcc4e96a0458c8aa

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel