• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group



We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
THIS is surely one of the most exhilarating pieces of music ever written. Its themes are taken from Berlioz' Opera,
Benvenuto Cellini , which was produced in 183S, but was not a groat success as a whole.
At the opening we find ourselves in the midst of Carnival jollity.
In a moment, however, there comes a lovely slow tune, given to Cor Anglais, with but a slight accompaniment, mainly with plucked Strings.
Then the Violin takes up the slow tune, Flutes weaving another one in with it. Further treatment of this tune follows.
All this is introductory-an Overture to an Overture, so to speak. At last comes a quick passage, with a change to six-in-a-bar time (beginning with Muted Strings) and with this we dash into the Overture proper-a lively and brilliant thing, full of fine orchestral effects.
9.45 SEYMOUR WHINYATES and Orchestra
ERNEST CHAUSSON was a French composer
(1855.99), a pupil first of Massenet and then of Franck. The lighter mind and more formal style of Massenet were much less congenial to him than the serious aims and more vigorous style of Franek.
Chausson was not dependent on his art, as he had considerable means, but he gave himself whole-heartedly to his study and creative work. Those who knew him best
(such as, for instance, Vincent d'Indy, his fellow-pupil under Franck) assert that a great development in his genius might have been expected had not his life come to a sudden end in early middle-life-through a cycling accident.
This (the only) Symphony of Chausson comprises three Movements. Its key is B Flat, its opus number 20 (his latest opus number being 38).
The FIRST MOVEMENT has a slow Introduction, in which is heard a line that assumes importance in the last part of the work. The First Movement proper is quick and vigorous.
The SECOND MOVEMENT (Very slow) begins with one of its chief tunes, solemnly, at a low pitch and in a minor key. Then various instruments pass a little time in a sort of gentle dialogue, until the first tune returns (a little changed). Then the speed quickens. and over a restless arpeggio motion in some of the Strings, and a continuous soft drum roll, the second chief tune enters. Next this is taken over and worked to an imposing climax, and the first tune returns. This Movement is sometimes joined on to the last, and sometimes separated from it by a brief interval.
The LAST MOVEMENT is animated. The
Trumpets, and then the Horns, blare out a forecast of the first main tune, and soon we dash upon it, at first played rather softly in the lower Strings. Yet more lively is the second tune, which moves in solid blocks of harmony, very loudly, on almost the full orchestra. The developing life of these tunes forms the body. of the Movement.
At the end, slowly, we hear a reference to the first tune of the whole Symphony.

ORCHESTRA Overture, ' 'Carnaval Romain ' - Berlioz
Concerto in D for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 61 Allegro ma non troppo : Larghetto : Rondo ; Allegro - Beethoven
10.25 ORCHESTRA Symphony in B Flat - Chausson


Tell us more or contact us

Do you know something about this programme that we have not included above?
Or would you like to ask the Genome team a question?

Tell us more or contact us

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Feedback about A SYMPHONY CONCERT, 2LO London, 21.35, 30 December 1927
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/c617da3ae8e649459bf7331fc414905b

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel