Programme Index

Discover 9,974,172 listings and 226,863 playable programmes from the BBC


on 5XX Daventry

View in Radio Times

Played by HOWARD BLISS (Violoncello) and GORDON BRYAN (Pianoforte)
Sonata No. I in G, Last two Movements
Bach's Chamber Concerto, No. 11, in B Flat,
First Movement, played by CoRDON BRYAN
THE second half of the Sonata in G includes a very short and singularly beautiful Slow
Movement, that shows us the imaginative romanticism of Bach, and a final Fugue, bold, bright and crisp, splendidly built up at considerable length.
The other work of which we are to hear »
Movement is Bach's arrangement for Keyboard of a Violin Concerto written by a young composer.! Duke Johann Ernst of Weimar, in whose bond; Bach, as a young man, had played, and who. became one of his friends. The Duke died before he was nineteen. Partly for his own instruction, and partly for pleasure, Bach transcribed some sixteen such Concertos by various composers, several of them by his great contemporary Vivaldi, the famous violinist-composer. He uses the music very freely, altering and enriching it notably...
We are to hear now the energetic, downright
First Movement of the Concerto that Bach made from Duke Johann's work.

5XX Daventry

Appears in

Suggest an Edit

We are trying to reflect the information printed in the Radio Times magazine.

  • Press the 'Suggest an Edit' button
  • Type in any changes to the title, synopsis or contributor information using the Radio Times Style Guide for reference.
  • Click the Submit Edits button.
    Your changes will be sent for verification and if accepted, will appear in due course More