Programme Index

Discover 10,333,101 listings and 247,654 playable programmes from the BBC

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Hexagonal Phase

1. Part the 0.16

Duration: 28 minutes

First broadcast: on BBC Radio 4 FMLatest broadcast: on BBC Radio 4 Extra

Following the publication of his diaries, Arthur Dent’s hopes for a secluded life soon evaporate.

A full-cast production of the sixth book in the famous Hitchhiker's Guide trilogy, based on Eoin Colfer’s ‘And Another Thing...’

The Book …. John Lloyd
Arthur Dent …. Simon Jones
Ford Prefect …. Geoff McGivern
Zaphod Beeblebrox …. Mark Wing-Davey
Trillian …. Sandra Dickinson and Susan Sheridan
Marvin the Paranoid Android …. Jim Broadbent
Fenchurch …. Jane Horrocks
with Samantha Béart, Toby Longworth, Andy Secombe, Ed Byrne, Lenny Henry, Philip Pope, Mitch Benn, Jon Culshaw and Professor Stephen Hawking.

Based on the novel with additional material by Douglas Adams
The series is co-written, directed and sound-designed by Dirk Maggs.

Music by Philip Pope

Produced by Dirk Maggs, Helen Chattwell and David Morley

A Perfectly Normal production for BBC Radio 4 first broadcast in March 2018. Show less


The Voice of the Book:
John Lloyd
Arthur Dent:
Simon Jones
Ford Prefect:
Geoff McGivern
Zaphod Beeblebrox:
Mark Wing-Davey
Tricia McMillan:
Sandra Dickinson
Toby Longworth
Constant Mown:
Andy Secombe
Left Brain:
Mitch Benn
Jane Horrocks
Hillman Hunter:
Ed Byrne
The Guide MkII:
Stephen Hawking
The Consultant:
Lenny Henry
Tom Alexander
Buckeye Brown:
Tom Alexander
Tom Alexander
Gunner Vogon:
Tom Alexander
Aseed Preflux:
Philip Pope
Sub-Etha Voice:
Philip Pope
HOG Door:
Philip Pope
Theo Maggs
The Viking:
Theo Maggs
John Marsh
Dirk Maggs
Dirk Maggs

About this data

This data is drawn from the data stream that informs BBC's iPlayer and Sounds. The information shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was/is subject to change and may not be accurate. More