Programme Index

Discover 10,237,296 listings and 242,364 playable programmes from the BBC

Silent Witness

Series 19

Part 1: Life Licence, Part 1

Duration: 1 hour

First broadcast: on BBC One Scotland HDLatest broadcast: on BBC One Channel Islands

Available for years

When an ex-convict is found brutally murdered in his home, the Lyell team is introduced to Sasha Blackburn, a forensic psychologist who works closely with those released from prison on life licence. The victim was a client of Sasha's, and so is one of the suspects: Paul Raynott, a vulnerable young man trying to turn his life around with Sasha's help.

Several other members of the life licence community are drawn into the investigation, each at varying stages of rehabilitation having served time for murder. Whilst the team learn how fragile their freedom really is, Sasha's close relationship with these damaged men is called into question, as is whether she really knows what's best for them. There are concerns over Paul's safety in particular, whose fragile state of mind and desperate need for rehabilitation mean he may be just as much a danger to himself as others. Show less


Dr Nikki Alexander:
Emilia Fox
Dr Thomas Chamberlain:
Richard Lintern
Jack Hodgson:
David Caves
Clarissa Mullery:
Liz Carr
Joe Sherringham:
Toby Wharton
Sasha Blackburn:
Lyndsey Marshal
David Sellars:
Jude Monk McGowan
Ryan White:
Jay Simpson
DS Mitchell:
Lloyd Owen
DI Jason Snow:
Richard Sutton
Bennet Walker:
Shaun Parkes
Oliver Bright:
Robert Whitelock
Cafe Owner:
Liam Bewley
Marcus Chadwell:
Kyle Soller
Ted Blake:
Stephen Kennedy
Connor Blake:
Tom Padley
Diane Blackburn:
Karen Meagher
Mandy Bright:
Jane Leaney
Drunk Customer:
David Anderson
Duty Doctor:
Oliver Gatz
Joshua Blake
Mark Everest
Executive Producer:
Anne Pivcevic

About this data

This data is drawn from the data stream that informs BBC's iPlayer and Sounds. The information shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was/is subject to change and may not be accurate. More