Programme Index

Discover 10,052,308 listings and 230,600 playable programmes from the BBC

Jane Austen - Sense and Sensibility

Episode 1

Duration: 1 hour

First broadcast: on BBC Radio 4 FMLatest broadcast: on BBC Radio 4 Extra

Forced to leave their beloved family home after the death of their father, Elinor and Marianne try to make a new life for themselves at Barton Cottage.

While Marianne unexpectedly meets the dashing Willoughby who sweeps her off her feet, Elinor has a surprise visit from Edward. But with neither fortune nor connections, the prospect of marrying the men they love appears remote.

Jane Austen's first published novel is a delightful comedy of manners and a powerful analysis of the ways in which women's lives were shaped by the claustrophobic society in which they had to survive. It is an engrossing story of love, money, passion and prudence. Intelligently written, carefully plotted and beautifully detailed.

Dramatised in two parts by Helen Edmundson.

Elinor ...... Amanda Hale
Marianne ...... Olivia Hallinan
Mrs Dashwood ...... Deborah McAndrew
Colonel Brandon ...... Blake Ritson
Willoughby ...... Ben Lamb
Edward ...... Henry Devas
Sir John ...... Conrad Nelson
Lady Middleton ...... Rosina Carbone
Mrs Jennings ...... Brigit Forsyth
Nancy ...... Victoria Brazier
Lucy ...... Caitlin Thorburn

Musician: Emily Hooker

Director: Nadia Molinari

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in April 2013. Show less

About this data

This data is drawn from the data stream that informs BBC's iPlayer and Sounds. The information shows what was scheduled to be broadcast, meaning it was/is subject to change and may not be accurate. More