Programme Index

Discover 9,871,544 listings and 221,023 playable programmes from the BBC


on BBC Home Service Basic

View in Radio Times

on gramophone records
Overture: The Marriage of Figaro
(Mozart) : London Philharmonic Orchestra : conductor, Sir Thomas Beecham
Violin Concerto in D (Prokofiev) :
Joseph Szigeti (violin), with the London Philharmonic Orchestra : conductor, Sir Thomas Beecham
The Battle of Kerzhenets (The Invisible
City of Kitezh : Rimsky-Korsakov) : Boston Symphony Orchestra : conductor, Serge Koussevitsky


Sir Thomas Beecham
Joseph Szigeti
Thomas Beecham
Serge Koussevitsky

BBC Home Service Basic

About BBC Home Service

BBC Home Service is a radio channel that started transmitting on the 1st September 1939 and ended on the 29th September 1967.

Appears in

Suggest an Edit

We are trying to reflect the information printed in the Radio Times magazine.

  • Press the 'Suggest an Edit' button
  • Type in any changes to the title, synopsis or contributor information using the Radio Times Style Guide for reference.
  • Click the Submit Edits button.
    Your changes will be sent for verification and if accepted, will appear in due course More