• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

A Promenade Concert


We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
Relayed from the Queen's Hall
(Sole Lessees, Messrs. Chappell and Co., Ltd.)
35th Season
Bach Concert
Suite, No. 2, in B Minor, for Flute and Strings
ASTRA DESMOND and Orchestra
Aria, ' Agnus Dei ' (Mass in B Minor)
ISOLDE MENGES and Orchestra
Concerto, No. 2 in E
ERIC GREENE and Orchestra
Arias :
See what His love will do (Church Cantata, No. 85,
' Ich bin cin gutes Hirt') (I am a Good Shepherd)
My Jesus is risen (Church Cantata, No. 67, ' Halt im Cedachtniss Jesum Christ ') (Hold in remembrance Jesus Christ)
Concerto in D Minor for Two Solo Violins and Strings
IN the whole realm of classical music there is no stouter witness than this concerto, to the truth of the old saying that the best music is necessarily also the most popular. Fresh and wholesome throughout, instinct with the splendid sanity of the sroat Bach, it is so full of what the ' man in the street' calls ' tunes ' as to dispose satisfactorily of the superstition that the classics are necessarily hard to understand, and that the great Bach is always stern and severe.
It is in three movements, of which the first and third are similar in manner and design, with the slow movement between forming something in the nature of an interlude. Scored for two solo violins and strings only, it is necessarily restricted throughout to the one tone-colour, but Bach contrives to vary the shades of tone in the most interesting way, and there is never a thought of monotony from beginning to end.
The second solo violin and the second violins of the orchestra begin the first movement at once with a merry hurrying tune which is really the main basis of the movement. The first violins, solo and orchestral, take it up at an interval of four bars, and throughout the movement it will be heard now on one, now on another, sometimes for a moment on all the strings at once.
The slow movement is an expressive melodious duet for the two soloists, with only slight accompaniment from the main body of the strings. Again it is the second violin which begins, to be followed with an imitation of the same tune two bars later, by the first.
All but the two solo violins and the bass begin the last movement together, but again with comparatively slight accompaniment, the greater part of the movement is a duet for the two solo instruments. No more need be said of it than that it closes the short work in the same happy spirit in which it opened.
Suite for full Orchestra, No. 6


Flute: Sir Henry Wood
Unknown: Agnus Dei
Unknown: Isolde Menges
Unknown: Eric Greene
Unknown: Isolde Menges

Tell us more or contact us

Do you know something about this programme that we have not included above?
Or would you like to ask the Genome team a question?

Tell us more or contact us

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

To read scans of the Radio Times magazines from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s, you can navigate by issue.

Feedback about A Promenade Concert, 2LO London and 5XX Daventry, 20.00, 11 September 1929
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/4dfdd7d070f04b9492c9439cf354764f

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel