Programme Index

Discover 10,008,306 listings and 227,892 playable programmes from the BBC

An Orchestral Concert

on 5GB Daventry (Experimental)

View in Radio Times

(From Birmingham)
Conducted by JOSEPH Lewis
TCHAIKOVSKY'S violin concerto was originally dedicated to Auer, but he showed so little interest in it that it was left to Adolf Brodsky to make the work known.
One inter3sting thing about the Concerto is that though Tchaikovsky himself liked the work as a whole when it was finished, feeling that it ought to be successful, the original slow movement seemed to him less satisfactory than the other two. He accordingly destroyed it and wrote instead the one which we now know. It begins with a short prelude on the woodwinds, and then the soloist plays the first big theme, a fine broad melody in Tchaikovsky's vein of quiet melancholy. It has a fine and beautifully orchestrated accompaniment, not less interesting than the melody itself. The second theme is another flowing tune given to the solo violin; unlike the first, which begins with an upward movement, this one opens with a downward flow.


Conducted By:
Joseph Lewis
Conducted By:
Eda Kersey
Adolf Brodsky

5GB Daventry (Experimental)

Appears in

Suggest an Edit

We are trying to reflect the information printed in the Radio Times magazine.

  • Press the 'Suggest an Edit' button
  • Type in any changes to the title, synopsis or contributor information using the Radio Times Style Guide for reference.
  • Click the Submit Edits button.
    Your changes will be sent for verification and if accepted, will appear in due course More