• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Ethel Smyth


We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
A Chamber Concert of her Works to be given before an audience in the Concert Hall,
Broadcasting House
Samuel Kutcher (Violin) ; Frederick Grinke (Violin) ; Raymond Jeremy (Viola);
Douglas Cameron (Violoncello)
KATHLEEN LONG (Pianoforte)
Sonata in A minor, Op. 7
1. Allegro moderato ; 2. Scherzo; 3. Romanze: Andante grazioso ; 4. Finale: Allegro vivaco
Chamber music does not appear to be a favourite means of expression with Dame Ethel Smyth. Apart from the two pianoforte and wind trios, out of her considerable range of compositions, there are only four chamber works, and these arc all early works.
Brahms, whom Dame Ethel knew intimately, was her model in chamber music. His influence is to be seen in the first movement of the Violin Sonata in A minor (1887), with its conflicting rhythms of two against three, the doubling of the melody at the octave, and several other little stylistic mannerisms. However, this sonata is rich in ideas and possesses much individuality and charm.
The first two movements of the Quartet in E minor were written in 1902, but were put aside until nine years later, when Dame Ethel was commissioned to write a chamber work for the first concert of the new Society of Women Musicians. Another two movements were added and the complete Quartet was given its first performance by the London String Quartet. The last movement, an excellent fugue on a very terse and rhythmic subject, is particularly attractive.
Quartet in E minor
1. Allegretto lirico ; 2. Allegro molto leggiero ; 3. Andante; 4. Allegro energico
Variations on Bonny Sweet Robin
Two Interlinked French Folk Melodies


Violin: Samuel Kutcher
Violin: Frederick Grinke
Violin: Raymond Jeremy
Viola: Douglas Cameron
Oboe: Terence MacDonagh
Pianoforte: Samuel Kutcher
Unknown: Dame Ethel Smyth.
Unknown: Terekce MacDonagh

Tell us more or contact us

Do you know something about this programme that we have not included above?
Or would you like to ask the Genome team a question?

Tell us more or contact us

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Feedback about Ethel Smyth, Regional Programme London, 21.00, 6 January 1934
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/2db6b9b2a07f4bb9b8701ae70eacdbb1

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel