• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group



We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
String Quartet, in C (K.465)
1 Adagio-Allegro. 2 Andante cantabile. 3 Minuetto (Allegretto).
4 Molto allegro played by the Blech String Quartet-Harry Blech (violin), Edward Silverman (violin), Douglas Thomson (viola), William Pleeth (violoncello)
Mozart's Quartet in C major (K.465) was finished in January, 1785-the last of six quartets which Mozart dedicated to Haydn as a mark of his esteem and affection. The opening slow introduction has caused a great deal of controversy up to modern times, owing to certain ' false relations ' that early commentators considered to be either a mistake on the part of the composer or an oversight in proof-reading. Today, however, we are less ' clever ' in correcting Mozart and are prepared to believe that he knew what he was doing. The effect of these discords lends a certain poignancy to the music, which from the allegro onward* reflects the happiest of moods throughout the four movements.


Violin: Edward Silverman
Violin: Douglas Thomson
Viola: William Pleeth

Tell us more or contact us

Do you know something about this programme that we have not included above?
Or would you like to ask the Genome team a question?

Tell us more or contact us

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Feedback about MOZART, BBC Home Service Basic, 23.00, 10 January 1940
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/0ba136531fdc44d492d502e0b2c2b562

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel