• Show TV Channels

    Hide TV Channels

  • Show Radio Channels

    Hide Radio Channels

  • Show Years

    Hide Years

  • Issues

Close group

Close group

Summer Symphony Concert


We have produced a Style Guide to help editors follow a standard format when editing a listing. If you are unsure how best to edit this programme please take a moment to read it.
Relayed from the Winter Gardens, Bournemouth
Deputy Conductor, MONTAGUE BIRCH
KATHLEEN JACOBS (Violoncello) ; PEERS COETMORE (Violoncello)

Orchestra ' Britannia ' Overture - A. C. Mackenzie
Ballet Suite ' Henry VIII' - Saint-Saëns
Sonata for Two Violoncellos and Strings Andante ; Allegro; Largo ; Allegro (Soloists, KATHLEEN JACOBS and PEERS COETMORE) - Handel
JENNIE BLEASDALE Air, ' Come Bella ' (How beautiful from ' Lucrezia Borgia - Donizetti
ORCHESTRA Symphony, ' Lenore ' (based on Burger's Poem) Happiness; Separation; Reunion in Death - Raff


Conductor: Montague Birch
Soprano: Jennie Bleasdale
Soprano: Kathleen Jacobs

Tell us more or contact us

Do you know something about this programme that we have not included above?
Or would you like to ask the Genome team a question?

Tell us more or contact us

About this project

This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

We hope it helps you find information about that long forgotten BBC programme, research a particular person or browse your own involvement with the BBC.

Through the listings, you will also be able to use the Genome search function to find thousands of radio and TV programmes that are already available to view or listen to on the BBC website.

There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. This is a historical record of the planned output and the BBC services of any given time. It should be viewed in this context and with the understanding that it reflects the attitudes and standards of its time - not those of today.

Feedback about Summer Symphony Concert, 5GB Daventry (Experimental), 15.00, 28 June 1928
Please leave this link here so we can find the programme you're referring to: http://genome.ch.bbc.co.uk/02aa6051225d44f19cd11fa95f3abb23

Welcome to BBC Genome

Genome is a digitised version of the Radio Times from 1923 to 2009 and is made available for internal research purposes only. You will need to obtain the relevant third party permissions for any use, including use in programmes, online etc.

This internal version of Genome, which includes all the magazine covers, images and articles as well as the programme listings from the Radio Times, is different to the version of BBC Genome that is available externally/to the public. It is only available inside the BBC network.

Your use of this version of Genome is covered by the BBC Acceptable Use of Information Systems Policy and these terms.

BBC Guidance

This historical record contains material which some might find offensive
Continue Cancel